Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us Profile Prizes and awards

Other awards

Huibregtsen Prize

The Huibregtsen Prize was established in 2005 by Stichting De Avond van Wetenschap & Maatschappij (Night of Science & Society Foundation). The prize is intended for a recent research project that combines scientific quality and innovation with an exceptional added value for society. 

iris sommer

The prize is awarded during the Night of Science & Society and comprizes of a sculpture, ‘De Denker’ (The Thinker) by Wil van der Laan, the sum of €25,000, earmarked for research activities, and a workshop, offered by the Lorentz Center in Leiden.

On 10 October, in Leiden, Iris Sommer received the 2022 Huibregtsen Prize. She  received the prize for her research into the unequal medical treatment of men and women. Read more

Ammodo Science Award

The Ammodo Science Award is presented annually, alternately for fundamental and groundbreaking research. The Ammodo Science Award for fundamental research specifically encourages fundamental science in all scientific disciplines. The Ammodo Science Award for groundbreaking research is designed to encourage potentially groundbreaking research conducted collaboratively. Both awards are divided into four fields: Biomedical Sciences, Humanities, Natural Sciences and Social Sciences.

decorative image
Adri Minnaard

Professor Adri Minaard - 2024

The Ammodo Science Award goes to Prof. Adri Minnaard for the pioneering, multidisciplinary "Lipidomics Team". Together with Prof. Branch Moody and Dr Ildiko van Rhijn, the team will use the award to further develop tests and vaccines against tuberculosis. Read more...

decorative image
Jingyuan Fu

Professor Jingyuan Fu - 2023

The Ammodo Science Award for fundamental research 2023 has been awarded to Jingyuan Fu, professor of Systems Medicine. She can use the award to explore new avenues of her research on the human gut microbiome. Read more...

decorative image
Merel Keijzer

Professor Merel Keijzer - 2023

Merel Keijzer, Professor of English Linguistics and English as a Second Language, received the Ammodo Science Award for fundamental research. She can use the sum to expand her research on how learning a new language contributes to healthy ageing. Read more...

Lisa Herzog
Lisa Herzog

Professor Lisa Herzog - 2021

The Ammodo Science Award for fundamental research 2021 has been awarded to professor of Political Philosophy Lisa Herzog. The award is to be spent on her research, which focuses on how moral and democratic values can play a larger role in our economic system. Read more...

Barteld Kooi
Barteld Kooi

Professor Barteld Kooi - 2015

On the recommendation of an advisory committee of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences and the Ammodo Foundation, the Ammodo KNAW Award 2015 for Humanities was awarded to Barteld Kooi, professor by special appointment of logicat the UG. Barteld Kooi’s research combines the apparent impenetrability of abstract information science with the ordinariness of card games and mind puzzles. Read more...

Distinguished Lorentz Fellowship

De Distinguished Lorentz Fellowship van de Netherlands Institute for Advanced Study (NIAS) wordt jaarlijks uitgereikt aan een toonaangevend onderzoeker. De fellowship is bedoeld voor vernieuwend onderzoek op het snijvlak tussen sociale en geesteswetenschappen aan de ene kant, en technologie en natuurwetenschappen aan de andere kant. Distinhuished Lorentz Fellows worden genomineerd door prominente Nederlandse Academici

Iris Sommer
Iris Sommer

Professor Iris Sommer - 2021

Iris Sommer has been appointed as Distinguished Lorentz Fellowship in 2021. This appointment allows Sommer to dedicate five months to her research on a nearly full-time basis in 2022, together with a multidisciplinary team. Her research focuses on the online monitoring of the mental health of psychiatric patients by means of automatic speech analysis. Read more...

Franjo Weissing
Franjo Weissing

Professor Franjo Weissing - 2016

UG Professor in Theoretical Biology Franjo Weissing was appointed the Distinguished Lorentz Fellow of the year 2017/18. As such, he was in residence at the NIAS in Amsterdam for half a year to work on a project that connects the social and natural sciences. Weissing focused on cultural evolution. Read more...

NWO Athena Award

The Athena Award rewards female researchers that stand out, and because of that are role models for others. Role models are important for female researchers who are starting their careers. These role models demonstrate that a career in science is possible.

Marthe Walvoort
Marthe Walvoort

Professor Marthe Walvoort - 2021

Prof. Marthe Walvoort received the Athena Award in 2021, one of the five science awards of the Dutch Research Council (NWO). Marthe Walvoort researches the complex structures of sugars, which play a key role in health and sickness. The jury considers Walvoort to be a natural role model: she is quite young for an academic and conducts excellent and prestigious interdisciplinary research. Read more...

Last modified:06 March 2024 12.10 p.m.
View this page in: Nederlands