Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us Profile Prizes and awards

Honorary doctorates

The University of Groningen awards honorary doctorates to people who have made an exceptional contribution to society, academia or politics.

Recently former UN Secretary General Ban Ki-moon has been awarded a honorary doctorate for his societal contributions in the field of peacekeeping and the development of the Paris Agreement.

Lustrum 2019: All Inclusive

Anniversaries of the UG are marked by these honorary awards. The UG awarded honorary doctorates to Prof. Titia de Lange and Dr Philipp Blom during its anniversary week in June 2019.

Philipp Blom and Titia de Lange
Philipp Blom and Titia de Lange

During the 400th anniversary of the University in 2014 a total of ten honorary awards were awarded.

Honorary doctorates in the 21st century

Archbishop Desmond Tutu (photo: Elmer Spaargaren)
Archbishop Desmond Tutu (photo: Elmer Spaargaren)

Read more on previous awarded honorary doctorates, starting in 1717.

Honorary doctorate ceremony

Mirjam Pressler receives the cappa (Photo: Elmer Spaargaren)
Mirjam Pressler receives the cappa (Photo: Elmer Spaargaren)

The UG honorary doctorate is symbolised by the red cappa. The Rector will also present the doctorate with a doctoral diploma, adorned with the seal of the UG.

Both staff and student associations take part in the ceremony, starting with the procession from the Academic Building to the Martini Church where the ceremony will take place. Professors are present in academic dress: Gown, bands and beret, decorations and distinctions. Students carry their flags and banners.

Honorary doctorates receive the title doctor honoris causa, or dr.h.c.

Last modified:13 March 2020 12.18 a.m.
printView this page in: Nederlands