Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us Faculty of Science and Engineering

Prof. Dirk Slotboom wins FSE Teaching Award 2017

20 November 2018
FSE Teacher of the Year 2017, Prof. Dirk Slotboom
FSE Teacher of the Year 2017, Prof. Dirk Slotboom

On the FSE Education Day, Friday November 16th, the winner of the Faculty Teaching Award 2017 was revealed: Prof. Dirk Slotboom has been chosen as FSE’s teacher of the year 2017. Slotboom teaches in the Bachelor's degree programmes in Biology and in Life Science and Technology.

The jury picked him out of 17 nominated teachers. Lecturers are nominated each year by the Programme Committees of the Faculty of Science and Engineering, based on their didactic and subject-specific skills. The jury comprised of:

  • Prof. Anton Scheurink (Chair; Biology, FSE award winner 2013 and UG Lecturer of the Year 2014)
  • Prof. Niels Taatgen (Artificial Intelligence, FSE award winner 2014 and UG Lecturer of the Year 2015)
  • Prof. Jan Anton Koster (Physics, FSE PhD Supervisor of the Year 2018)
  • Joeri ten Kate (Faculty Board student assessor)
  • Marie-Claire Lankhorst (Computing Science student)

Prof. Dirk Slotboom will represent the Faculty in the UG Lecturer of the Year election, which will take place later on January 30th, 2019.

Nominated for the Faculty Teaching Award 2017 were:

Degree Programme(s)



Dr. P. (Pratika) Dayal

Artificial Intelligence/Human Machine Communication

Prof. dr. L.C. (Rineke) Verbrugge

Energy and Environmental Sciences

Prof. H.A.J. (Harro) Meijer

Behavioral and Cognitive Neurosciences

Dr. P. (Peter) Meerlo


Dr. G.R. (Graeme) Blake

Education and Communication

Drs. L.T.J. (Lemke) Kraan

Pharmacy (Bachelor’s)

Prof. dr. R. (Reinoud) Gosens

Pharmacy (Master’s)

Dr. H.J. (Herman) Woerdenbag

Computing Science

Dr. A (Arnold) Meijster

Chemistry and Chemical Engineering

Prof. dr. E (Edwin) Otten

Biomedical Engineering

Dr. R.J. (Remco) Renken (UMCG)

Mathematics and Applied Mathematics

D. (Daniel) Rodrigues Valesin, PhD


Prof. dr. R.G.E (Rob) Timmermans

Biology and Life Science & Technology

Prof. dr. D.J. (Dirk) Slotboom

Industrial Engineering and Management

Prof. dr. B. (Bayu) Jayawardhana

Biomedical Sciences/Medical Pharmaceutical Sciences

Drs. S. (Saskia) Grooters

Biology (Master’s)

Prof. dr. F.J. (Franjo) Weissing

All nominees
All nominees
Last modified:27 February 2024 4.58 p.m.
View this page in: Nederlands

More news