Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us Latest news News News articles

Four faculty professors appointed to KNAW

15 May 2009

The Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW: Koninklijke Nederlandse Akademie van Wetenschappen) has appointed 28 new members, including five from the University of Groningen. Four of them are professor at the Faculty of Science and Engineering.

The Academy currently has over 200 regular members, all of whom are prominent academics working in all fields of academic research. Members are appointed on the basis of their academic achievements.

The KNAW advises the Dutch government on developments in the academic world, promotes national and international cooperation in academia, is actively involved in the quality assessment of academic research and is responsible for nineteen academic research institutes and for service provision to academia.

New members from the faculty:

Science Division

- Prof. Arnold Driessen (1958), professor of Molecular Biology, University of Groningen

- Prof. Theunis Piersma (1958), professor of Animal Ecology, University of Groningen, Wadden researcher, Royal Netherlands Institute for Sea Research (NIOZ)

- Prof. Bert Poolman (1959), professor of Biochemistry, University of Groningen

- Prof. Bart van Wees (1961), professor of Technical Physics, University of Groningen

See also: KNAW website

Last modified:10 February 2017 12.11 p.m.
View this page in: Nederlands

More news