Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us Faculty of Science and Engineering

Taatgen and Trager win Faculty Teaching Award

28 November 2015

During an award ceremony on November 27th, Prof. Niels Taatgen (Artificial Intelligence) and Prof. Scott Trager (Astronomy) have been proclaimed winners of the 2014-2015 Faculty Teaching Award. The jury selected the winners from 20 teachers that the programme's committees within the Faculty of Science and Engineering (formerly known as the Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences) had nominated based on didactic, content relative and innovation skills. The jury comprised of Prof. Harry Trentelman (chairman), Carolien Kerstholt (student member of the faculty board), Prof. Kanat Camlibel and Prof. Anton Scheurink (both winners of last year's Teaching Award).

University's Teacher of the Year election on January 28th

Niels Taatgen will represent the Faculty at the University’s Teacher of the Year election, held during the Education Day, on January 28th, 2016, 2.45 pm. A teacher of each faculty holds a short lecture in about six minutes. You can watch the election online via the website of the Education Day. Besides the ‘Teacher of the Year’ award, an Audience Award is presented for which you can vote online.

The twenty teachers nominated for the Faculty Teaching award were:

(Applied) Physics

Prof. R.G.E. Timmermans

Prof. ir. P.R. Onck

(Applied) Chemistry

Prof. J.C. Hummelen

Artificial Intelligence

Prof. N.A. Taatgen

Dr. J.K. Spenader


Prof. R.M. Mendez

Prof. S.C. Trager


Prof. D.G.M. Beersma

Biology - LS&T

Dr. J.A.K.W Kiel

Dr. J.C. Billeter

Biomedical Engineering

Dr. R.J. Renken

Biomolecular Sciences – Pharmaceutical Medical Sciences

Prof. M.C. Harmsen

Computing Science

Prof. A.C. Telea

Dr. A. Meijster


Dr. H.A.J. Mulder


Prof. B. Jayawardhana

Prof. F. Picchioni


drs. C.M. Dantuma-Wering

Prof. H.J. Haisma


R.Y.N. Gengler

Last modified:12 January 2023 3.55 p.m.
View this page in: Nederlands

More news