Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About usNews and EventsNews articles

Chris Ormel winner of Van Swinderen Prize

16 December 2009

The Van Swinderen Prize 2009 is awarded to the astronomer Chris W. Ormel. This award of the Royal Physical Society in Groningen is assigned yearly to the best Dutch abstract of a PhD thesis at the Faculty of Science and Engineering (formerly known as the Faculty Mathematics and Natural Sciences) or at the Faculty of Medical Sciences of the University of Groningen. With the prize comes a certificate and 2250 euros. The presentation of the prize will take place on January 19, 2010 preceding the lecture of the Royal Physical Society in Images, Poelestraat 30, in Groningen.

The Van Swinderen Prize will be presented for the 18th time. It was created by the Royal Physical Society in Groningen in 1991. The chairman of the jury is Prof. dr. A.J. Moshage.
As criterion applies that the Dutch abstract on the one hand gives a right image of the contents of the thesis and on the other hand is understandable for non-experts. The title of Ormels thesis is
" The early stages of planet formation: how to grow from small to large".

Dr. Chris W. Ormel (Tunesia, 1981) studied astronomy, graduated cum laude in 2004 at the University of Groningen, and finished his PhD thesis on October 10, 2008 at the Kapteyn Institute of the University. The promotors were Prof. dr. A.G.G.M. Tielens and Prof. dr. M.C. Spaans. In 2008 the Dutch Organization of Scientific Research (NOW) awarded him a Rubicon grant (for promising scientists). At present he works as a post-doc at the Max-Planck- Institut für Astronomie in Heidelberg.

Last modified:09 July 2018 10.36 a.m.
printView this page in: Nederlands

More news

  • 21 June 2019

    Spinoza Prize 2019 for astronomer Amina Helmi

    Amina Helmi, a professor of Astronomy specializing in Milky Way dynamics, structure and formation, will receive the Spinoza Prize in October.

  • 14 June 2019

    Small steps, big leaps – how marram grass builds dunes

    The size and shape of dunes varies greatly around the world: in Europe they're tall and narrow, while in the US they're low and wide. A new study has found that this is partly because dunes are constructed by plants with different ‘movement strategies’...

  • 13 June 2019

    61 million euros for social and scientific breakthroughs

    More than 200 researchers and their teams can begin to work on social and scientific issues in close collaboration with public and private parties. This close collaboration will take place in 17 research projects.