Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About usFaculty of Science and Engineering

Herman Meurs receives 2015 Joseph R. Rodarte Award for Scientific Distinction

20 May 2015

Herman Meurs, professor of Immunopharmacology, of the Groningen Research Institute of Pharmacy, received the 2015 Joseph R. Rodarte Award for Scientific Distinction. The award was presented on May 18 at the annual RSF Assembly Membership Meeting at the American Thoracic Society (ATS) International Conference in Denver. The award is the highest level of distinction awarded by the Respiratory Structure and Function Assembly of the ATS. Herman Meurs is the first European scientist to receive this prestigious award.

Herman Meurs is a enthusiastic pharmacologist, a translational researcher avant-lalettre, who dedicated his career to the understanding of airway hyperresponsiveness in asthma with key discoveries relevant to asthma pharmacotherapy today. Moreover, Herman Meurs has been a mentor of many PhD students who are currently active as postdocs, lecturers and professors in respiratory research all over the world. The prestigious Rodarte award is a crown on his successful scientific career.

Read more

Herman Meurs receiving the Rodarte Award
Herman Meurs receiving the Rodarte Award
Last modified:01 February 2017 12.45 a.m.

More news

  • 17 April 2019

    Why lightning often strikes twice

    In contrast to popular belief, lightning often does strike twice, but the reason why a lightning channel is ‘reused’ has remained a mystery. Now, an international research team led by the University of Groningen has used the LOFAR radio telescope to...

  • 16 April 2019

    Still going strong after four decades

    On March 29th professor of Applied Physics Jeff de Hosson was offered a farewell symposium, a few months after his official retirement date near the close of 2018. ‘But 29 March was the 100th birthday of Jan Francken, my predecessor.’ Besides, De Hosson...

  • 11 April 2019

    Ben Feringa in orbit around the Sun

    Dozens of minor planets that used to orbit the Sun anonymously were named by the International Astronomical Union on 6 April 2019. The asteroid that used to be known as ‘minor planet 12655’ was named after Prof. Ben Feringa, winner of the 2016 Nobel...