Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
Faculty of PhilosophyOrganizationNews & EventsNews

Lisa Herzog wins Philosophy and Social Ethics Award

19 September 2019
Lisa Herzog (Photo: Paula Winkler)

A €100,000 grant has been awarded to Dr Lisa Herzog, who will join the UG Faculty of Philosophy in October, by the Max Uwe Redler Stiftung. The foundation supports the humanities by awarding the Deutsche Preis für Philosophie und Sozialethik to a contemporary philosopher every two years since 2014.

The jury celebrates Herzog's ability to apply her scientific research to today's societal challenges. Next to her books and articles for a more specialist audience, she has written books that appeal to a large audience: the jury mentions in particular Freiheit gehört nicht nur den Reichen (Freedom is Not for the Rich Only, 2014) and Die Rettung der Arbeit. Ein Politischer Aufruf (Salvaging Labour, A Political Plea, 2019).

Lisa Herzog will join the Faculty of Philosophy in Groningen as Rosalind Franklin Fellow as of October, 1st. She will be one of the leading people in the Centre for Philosophy, Politics and Economics (PPE) and will teach courses on PPE in the Faculty's PPE Master programme. The Faculty congratulates Lisa on this magnificent award and is proud to welcome her as our new colleague.

More information

Press release Max Uwe Redler Stiftung (in German)

Last modified:19 September 2019 3.28 p.m.
printView this page in: Nederlands

More news

  • 25 July 2019

    Lisa Herzog to join the Centre for PPE in October

    Lisa Herzog will join our Centre for Philosophy, Politics and Economics from 1 October 2019.

  • 16 July 2019

    Thirteen Veni grants for young Groningen researchers

    Thirteen researchers from the University of Groningen (UG) and the UMCG have been awarded Veni grants within the framework of NWO’s Innovational Research Incentives Scheme. A terrific result building on last year's successes, where 12 Groningen researchers...

  • 09 July 2019

    Filosofiestudente Lonneke Oostland wint GUF-100 prijs

    De GUF-100 prijzen voor excellerende studenten werden in 1993 voor het eerst uitgereikt ter gelegenheid van het 100-jarig bestaan van het GUF. De prijs bestaat uit een eenmalige beurs ter hoogte van €2500,-te besteden aan studie of onderzoek en wordt...