Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us Faculty of Philosophy Organization News & Events News News archive

News archive Faculty of Philosophy

Select a year to see all the Faculty's news articles from that year.

Jan Brouwer thesis prize awarded to Ruth Kleczewski
Posted on:01 December 2020

Ruth Kleczewski has won this year's Jan Brouwer thesis prize in the category Philosophy. The prize is awarded to the best master's theses in eight categories from the Humanities and Social Sciences by the Royal Holland Society for Sciences and Humanities (KHMW) each year.

Sjoerd Griffioen receives PhD with distinction cum laude with thesis on German secularization debate
Posted on:05 October 2020

On Thursday 1 October, Sjoerd Griffioen defended his PhD thesis, entitled Contested Modernity: Karl Löwith, Hans Blumenberg and Carl Schmitt and the German Secularization Debate. He received his PhD degree with the distinction cum laude.

Ethical framework for equitable global COVID-19 vaccine distribution
Posted on:04 September 2020

Philosopher Lisa Herzog, associate professor at the Faculty of Philosophy, is member of an international research team that wrote the article An Ethical Framework for global vaccine allocation, which was published in Science on 3 September. The team, led by oncologist and bioethicist Ezekiel J. Emanuel, has researched how a vaccine can be distributed around the world fairly and equitably.

Spinoza Prize awarded to Pauline Kleingeld
Posted on:19 June 2020

Pauline Kleingeld, professor of Philosophy Ethics and its History wins the Spinoza Prize, which is the highest disctinction in Dutch academia.

Frank Hindriks appointed at Royal Holland Society of Sciences and Humanities (KHMW)
Posted on:13 February 2020

The Royal Holland Society of Sciences and Humanities has appointed Frank Hindriks as a new member.

Lisa Herzog wins Philosophy and Social Ethics Award
Posted on:19 September 2019

A €100,000 grant has been awarded to Dr Lisa Herzog by the German Max Uwe Redler Stiftung. Lisa Herzog will join the Faculty of Philosophy (University of Groningen) as Rosalind Franklin Fellow as of October, 1st.

Lisa Herzog to join the Centre for PPE in October
Posted on:25 July 2019

Lisa Herzog will join our Centre for Philosophy, Politics and Economics from 1 October 2019.

Filosofiestudente Lonneke Oostland wint GUF-100 prijs
Posted on:09 July 2019

De GUF-100 prijzen voor excellerende studenten werden in 1993 voor het eerst uitgereikt ter gelegenheid van het 100-jarig bestaan van het GUF. De prijs bestaat uit een eenmalige beurs ter hoogte van €2500,-te besteden aan studie of onderzoek en wordt toegekend aan de meest excellente student van elke faculteit.

Successful Conference by Women in Philosophy
Posted on:25 June 2019

On Sunday 23rd and Monday 24th of June, a very successful Conference by Women in Philosophy was held at the University of Groningen.

Philosophical research in Groningen judged "excellent"
Posted on:25 April 2019

The committee praises the high quality of the faculty's research and its international character, as well as the impressive number of research grants and other marks of recognition.

View this page in: Nederlands