Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us Faculty of Philosophy Organization

About us

A the top ranked university in Europe to study philosophy

Widely regarded as one of the top universities to study philosophy in Europe, the Faculty of Philosophy offers two bachelor programmes and multiple master programmes, which includes the selective MSc in Philosophy, Politics and Economics (PPE), a selective two-year Research Master, and a two-year combination Master Philosophy, Science and Humanities (PSH).

Our degree programmes have consistently been ranked high in the top in the Netherlands and are home to around 450 students every year. Research areas include philosophy of science, philosophy of mind, ethics, political philosophy, and the history of philosophy.

Two NWO Spinoza Prize laureates

The highest distinction in Dutch Academia, the Spinoza Prize, has been awarded to Professor of Ethics and its History Pauline Kleingeld in 2020, and to Professor of the History of Philosophy Lodi Nauta in 2016.

Main entrance of the Faculty of Philosophy
Faculty of Philosophy

An inspiring, friendly and international community

Located in the historical centre of Groningen, the faculty is an internationally oriented community of researchers and teachers that welcomes students from all over the world to broaden and deepen their knowledge, and sharpen their skills in an inspiring, friendly and collegial setting.


The Faculty of Philosophy was only established in 1965, as the Centrale Interfaculteit (Central Interfaculty), indicating the connection of all scientific disciplines through philosophy and aiming for social responsible training for all students.

Last modified:21 November 2022 10.15 a.m.
printView this page in: Nederlands