Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us Faculty of Philosophy Organization News & Events News

News archive: 2021

Overview of Faculty of Philosophy's news articles from the year 2021.

Schader Prize awarded to Lisa Herzog for groundbreaking work
Posted on:07 December 2021

The Schader Prize 2022 has been awarded to Professor Herzog for her groundbreaking work on the philosophy of markets, on theories of justice and on economic ethics.

Prize for Andreas Schmidt for article on Ethics, Leadership, and Public Policy
Posted on:19 November 2021

Andreas Schmidt has won the second prize of a paper competition held by the Elizabeth D. Rockwell Center on Ethics and Leadership at the Hobby School of Public Affairs at the University of Houston.

Bachelor Filosofie Groningen: Topopleiding
Posted on:16 November 2021

De Groningse bacheloropleiding Filosofie kreeg opnieuw het label Topopleiding toegekend in de Keuzegids Universiteiten 2022.

Jeanne Peijnenburg's portrait in Senate Chamber
Posted on:05 November 2021

A portrait of our emeritus professor of Theoretical Philosophy Jeanne Peijnenburg was recently added to the gallery of professors in the Senate Chamber of the University of Groningen.

Sabina Vaccarino Bremner wins the North American Kant Society Wilfrid Sellars Prize
Posted on:22 June 2021

Sabina Vaccarino Bremner, who recently graduateed from Columbia University and started as lecturer in the Faculty of Philosophy last year, has won the North American Kant Society Wilfrid Sellars Prize for junior scholars.

Sjoerd Griffioen wins Praemium Erasmianum Prize
Posted on:17 May 2021

Sjoerd Griffioen, skills teacher at our faculty, received the Praemium Erasmianum dissertation prize for his thesis Contested Modernity.

Sjoerd Griffioen wins Praemium Erasmianum Research Prize
Posted on:14 May 2021

Sjoerd Griffioen has won the Stichting Praemium Erasmianum Research Prize for his dissertation Contested Modernity. Karl Löwith, Hans Blumenberg and Carl Schmitt and the German Secularization Debate.

New Dean: Jan-Willem Romeijn
Posted on:25 March 2021

As from 1 April, Jan-Willem Romeijn , professor of philosophy of science at our faculty, is our new dean.

Lisa Herzog wins Ammodo Science Award 2021
Posted on:09 March 2021

The Ammodo Science Award for fundamental research 2021 has been awarded to professor of Political Philosophy Lisa Herzog. The award consists of €300.000 to be spent on her research.

View this page in: Nederlands