Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us Faculty of Philosophy Organization News & Events News

Schader Prize awarded to Lisa Herzog for groundbreaking work

07 December 2021

The Schader Prize 2022 has been awarded to Lisa Herzog for her groundbreaking work on the philosophy of markets, on theories of justice and on economic ethics.

Every year, the Schader Prize (Schader-Preis, €15.000) is awarded to a social scientist who has made important contributions to solving social problems through their scientific work and public activities by the Schader Foundation (Darmstadt, Germany). The prize is awarded by the Senate of the Schader Foundation, which consists of last year’s prizewinners.

Inequality threatens democracy

Speaker of the Senate Angelika Nußberger explains the Senate's decision to award this year's Prize to Professor Lisa Herzog:

'Lisa Herzog is one of today's remarkable thinkers who engages with fundamental questions at the interface between economics and philosophy. Her work on the philosophy of markets, on theories of justice and on economic ethics is groundbreaking. She advocates for decent jobs and for a responsible distribution of resources, because inequality threatens democracy. She makes an essential contribution to today's socio-political discourse with her publications and statements on current events.'

The award ceremony will take place in June 2022 in Darmstadt. Lisa Herzog will be a member of the Senate of the Schader Foundation herself for seven years when she has received the award.

More information

Read this interview with Lisa Herzog about her work (on the occasion of having been awarded the Ammodo Science Award, September 2021)

About the Schader-Preis and previous winners

This article was published by the Faculty of Philosophy.

Last modified:07 December 2021 6.13 p.m.
printView this page in: Nederlands

More news

  • 15 March 2022

    Vici grants for three UG researchers

    The Dutch Research Council (NWO) has awarded three Vici grants, worth €1.5 million each, to three UG researchers. Prof. J.W Romeijn, Prof. S. Hoekstra, Prof. K.I. Caputi can use this money to develop an innovative line of research and to set up...

  • 09 December 2021

    Two UG researchers join The Young Academy

    In 2022, UG researchers Dr Else Starkenburg and Prof. Lisa Herzog will join the Young Academy. Dr Marie-José van Tol has been appointed as new chair.

  • 09 December 2021

    Lisa Herzog elected as new member of the Young Academy

    Professor of Political Philosophy Lisa Herzog has been elected as member of De Jonge Akademie (DJA) of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW). The Faculty of Philosophy is delighted with this news.