Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us Faculty of Philosophy Organization News & Events News

Sjoerd Griffioen wins Praemium Erasmianum Research Prize

14 May 2021
Sjoerd Griffioen

Sjoerd Griffioen has won the Praemium Erasmianum Research Prize for his dissertation Contested Modernity. Karl Löwith, Hans Blumenberg and Carl Schmitt and the German Secularization Debate.

Sjoerd Griffioen (Department of the History of Philosophy) received his PhD with distinction cum laude last autumn, after having defended his thesis on the German seculatrization debate.

PEF Research Prizes

Apart from the prestigious Erasmus Award, the Praemium Erasmianum Foundation (PEF) awards five Research Prizes in the field of the humanities and the social sciences each year. A maximum of five prizes of € 3,000 each are awarded to young academic researchers who have written a PhD dissertation of outstanding quality.

Award ceremony on 27 May

You can watch the award ceremony of the Research Prizes via the PEF website on 27 May at 4.00 pm .

More information

PEF Research Prize page Sjoerd Griffioen

Thesis summary Contested Modernity, Sjoerd Griffioen 2020

Full thesis Contested Modernity. Karl Löwith, Hans Blumenberg and Carl Schmitt and the German Secularization Debate , Sjoerd Griffioen 2020

University of Groningen profile page Sjoerd Griffioen

This article was published by the Faculty of Philosophy.

Last modified:14 May 2021 4.16 p.m.
printView this page in: Nederlands

More news

  • 15 March 2022

    Vici grants for three UG researchers

    The Dutch Research Council (NWO) has awarded three Vici grants, worth €1.5 million each, to three UG researchers. Prof. J.W Romeijn, Prof. S. Hoekstra, Prof. K.I. Caputi can use this money to develop an innovative line of research and to set up...

  • 09 December 2021

    Two UG researchers join The Young Academy

    In 2022, UG researchers Dr Else Starkenburg and Prof. Lisa Herzog will join the Young Academy. Dr Marie-José van Tol has been appointed as new chair.

  • 09 December 2021

    Lisa Herzog elected as new member of the Young Academy

    Professor of Political Philosophy Lisa Herzog has been elected as member of De Jonge Akademie (DJA) of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW). The Faculty of Philosophy is delighted with this news.