Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us Faculty of Philosophy Organization News & Events News

Sjoerd Griffioen wins Praemium Erasmianum Prize

17 May 2021
Sjoerd Griffioen

Sjoerd Griffioen, skills teacher at our faculty, received the Praemium Erasmianum dissertation prize for his thesis Contested Modernity. Karl Löwith, Hans Blumenberg and Carl Schmitt and the German Secularization Debate . He graduated cum laude on this thesis on October 1st last year (supervised by Lodi Nauta and Judith Vega).

Since 1988, the Praemium Erasmianum Foundation awards annual Research Prizes in the field of the humanities and the social sciences. A maximum of five prizes of € 3,000 each are awarded to young academic researchers who have written a PhD dissertation of outstanding quality. The relevant faculties of the Dutch universities are asked to nominate candidates; this year there were 34 nominees.

It is therefore a remarkable achievement to win this prestigious prize. Previously Sjoerd already won the Jan Brouwer master thesis prize from the Koninklijke Hollandsche Maatschappij der Wetenschappen. He tells about his research on:

The faculty is very proud of Sjoerd and congratulates him with this noteworthy achievement. The award ceremony will be on May 27 and can be followed online.

More information

Last modified:21 June 2021 3.46 p.m.
printView this page in: Nederlands

More news

  • 15 March 2022

    Vici grants for three UG researchers

    The Dutch Research Council (NWO) has awarded three Vici grants, worth €1.5 million each, to three UG researchers. Prof. J.W Romeijn, Prof. S. Hoekstra, Prof. K.I. Caputi can use this money to develop an innovative line of research and to set up...

  • 09 December 2021

    Two UG researchers join The Young Academy

    In 2022, UG researchers Dr Else Starkenburg and Prof. Lisa Herzog will join the Young Academy. Dr Marie-José van Tol has been appointed as new chair.

  • 09 December 2021

    Lisa Herzog elected as new member of the Young Academy

    Professor of Political Philosophy Lisa Herzog has been elected as member of De Jonge Akademie (DJA) of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW). The Faculty of Philosophy is delighted with this news.