Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
Over onsFaculteit der LetterenOrganisatieBestuur, afdelingen en medewerkersAfdelingenAfdeling Griekse en Latijnse taal en cultuurHellenistic Poetry

Groningen Workshop on Hellenistic Poetry

The Groningen Workshops on Hellenistic Poetry have over the past 25 years provided an important venue for the presentation of new ideas in the field of Hellenistic poetry. In September 2017 the instigator and organizer of these workshops, Professor Annette Harder, will be retiring from the University of Groningen, which means that an end of the workshops in their present form is imminent.

To honor Annette Harder and fittingly celebrate her career in the service of Hellenistic poetry, whose acme has undoubtedly been the publication of a monumental new edition of Callimachus’ Aetia, we are organizing a final Groningen Workshop entitled,'Callimachus Revisited', on September 13-14, 2017. Callimachus formed the focus of the first Groningen workshop in 1992, and was revisited in 2002. It seems fitting to close the series by returning to this central poet once more, ask how our understanding of Callimachus has developed over the past 25 years, and consider future directions.

The workshop will coincide with Annette’s Valedictory Lecture, on 14th September, 2017. Unlike previous editions, there is no open Call for Papers this year, as all speakers have been especially selected for this special occasion. But of course all are welcome to attend and help celebrate Annette's career. The program of the workshop and other practical information will be published on the website as soon as possible.

Application form


€100 for regular participants

€50 for students

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us:

On behalf of the organizing committee,

Dr. Martine Cuypers (Trinity College Dublin)
Dr. Jacqueline Klooster (University of Groningen)

Overview of the Groningen Workshops on Hellenistic Poetry

  1. Callimachus (1992)
  2. Theocritus (1994)
  3. Genre in Hellenistic Poetry (1996)
  4. Apollonius Rhodius (1998)
  5. Hellenistic Epigrams (2000)
  6. Callimachus II (2002)
  7. Beyond the Canon (2004)
  8. Nature and Science in Hellenistic Poetry (2006)
  9. Gods and Religion in Hellenistic Poetry (2008)
  10. Hellenistic Poetry in Context (2010)
  11. Past and Present in Hellenistic Poetry (2013)
  12. Drama and Performance in Hellenistic Poetry (2015)

The proceedings of every workshop are published in the series ‘ Hellenistica Groningana ’ by Peeters Publishers (Leuven). The first three volumes are published by Forsten Publishing (Groningen).


Click here for the programme of the Workshop Hellenistic Poetry 2017

Laatst gewijzigd:25 juli 2018 15:55