Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About usFaculty of Science and EngineeringFaculty News

Scheurink and Camlibel win Faculty Teaching Award

11 December 2014
Prof. Anton Scheurink (right) and Prof. Kanat Camlibel (left)
Prof. Anton Scheurink (right) and Prof. Kanat Camlibel (left)

During an award ceremony on Tuesday, December 9th, Prof. Anton Scheurink (Biology and LS&T, on the right) and Prof. Kanat Camlibel (Mathematics, on the left) have been proclaimed winners of the 2013-2014 Faculty Teaching Award. Prof. Scheurink will be the Faculty's candidate in the University's  Teacher of the Year competition on  January 29th, 2015.

The jury selected the winners from 16 teachers that the programme’s committees within the faculty had nominated based on didactic, content relative and innovation skills. The jury comprises of Prof. Harry Trentelman (chairman), Paul Wijnbergen (Master student Mathematics and Applied Physics), Prof. Wesley Browne and Dr Niesko Pras (both winners of last year’s Teaching Award).

Last modified:01 February 2017 01.29 a.m.
printView this page in: Nederlands

More news

  • 12 August 2019

    Cold winters not caused by Arctic climate change

    Recent studies into the relationship between decreases in sea ice in the Arctic and ice-cold winters in the mid-latitudes, like the Polar Vortex cold waves in North America, seem to suggest that such a connection does indeed exist. However, the mechanisms...

  • 05 August 2019

    New Zealand’s biodiversity will take millions of years to recover

    The arrival of humans in New Zealand, some 700 years ago, triggered a wave of extinction among native bird species. Calculations by scientists from the University of Groningen in the Netherlands and Massey University in New Zealand show that it would...

  • 31 July 2019

    Closing the door: breaking new ground related to a potential anticancer drug target

    In order to sustain fast growth, cancer cells need to take up nutrients at a faster rate than healthy cells. The human glutamine transporter ASCT2 allows the amino acid glutamine to enter cells and is upregulated in many types of cancer cells, which...