Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
Alumni About alumni Alumnus of the Year

Alumnus of the Year

Takudzwa S. (Taku) Mutezo, Alumnus of the Year 2023

‘I am a tiny drop in the ocean but if not me, then who?’. It is impressive to see in how many fields and in how many ways the Alumnus of the Year 2023 is bringing this motto into practice, says the jury report on the new Alumnus of the Year 2023: Takudzwa S. (Taku) Mutezo.
As an environmental lawyer, she is committed to nature preservation, fights against nature crime at an international level, contributes to legislation, generates worldwide awareness of how important nature is to us, initiates innovative projects, and is a sustainable farmer with her own urban farm. In short, Taku inspires and astonishes.

Read the full jury report here>>

Read the interview with Taku here>>

Read the interviews with Taku on and

Previous Alumni of the Year are:

(As of 2022, the nomination and the awarding of the prize will take place in the same year)

About the Alumnus of the Year award

To qualify for the title of Alumnus of the Year, a candidate must meet the following criteria. We are looking for people who:

Sculpture Wia van Dijk
Sculpture Wia van Dijk
  • Have made an exceptional contribution to society, research, culture or sports,
  • Are an inspiration to others
  • Are a promise for the future (the Alumnus of the Year award is a midcareer prize).

The prize for the Alumnus of the Year is a specially designed sculpture of visual artist Wia van Dijk. The 'Athena Noctua' is a pure and powerful bronze statue that stands for wisdom, curiosity, and pride. Each year the sculpture is personalized by changing the color of the eyes to match the personality of the winner.

Information and contact

Do you have any questions? Please contact the Department Alumni Relations and Fundraising of the UG: alumni or +31(0)50 363 7595

View this page in: Nederlands