Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About usOur organizationAdministrative organizationAdvisory committees

University Committee for Education (UCO)

University Committee for Education (UCO)

The University Committee for Education is an independent advisory committee of the Board of the University.

The committee is composed in the following way. Each faculty is represented by one member. Besides that, the University Council is represented by one member. To properly promote the interests of students, the committee has four independent student members. The Rector Magnificus attends all committee meetings as a representative of the Board of the University. The committee is supported by a secretary from the Department of Educational Strategy and Quality Assurance (ESQA) of the Central University Office.


The committee has three main duties. Firstly, it advises the Board of the University on educational matters within the RUG, both on request and independently. For this, the Board of the University invites the committee at an early stage to join them in considering important (new) issues in educational policy. Secondly, the committee plays a role in the monitoring and evaluation of policies. A part of this is also the encouragement of the sharing of best practices. Thirdly, the committee monitors the quality of education through providing support in the PDCA-cycle, for example by advising the Board of the University on matters regarding the self-analysis reports (such as Critical Reflections and Education Monitors) that programmes compile for the QANU assessment visitations, as part of the preparation process for NVAO accreditations.

The UCO regulations are available from the UCO Secretary.

Current Members

Name On Behalf of Phone Email
Chairman: Dr. A. van den Assem (Arjan) Faculty of Spatial Sciences 3878
Prof. dr. E. Sterken (Elmer) Rector Magnificus 5290
Dr. L.F. Bruyning (Luuc) Faculty of Arts 5263
Drs. M.M. Blaauw (Marieke) University of Groningen Honours College 5355
Dr. A.M. van Trigt (Anke) Faculty of Medical Sciences 6840
Dr. S.J. Vellenga (Sipco) Faculty of Theology and Religious Studies 2293
Dr. P.P.M Smid (Peter) Economie en Bedrijfskunde 3668
Mw. Dr. H. Steenbergen (Hilde)

Faculty of Behavioural and Social Sciences

Drs. A.A. Veenkamp (Arnold) Faculty of Philosophy 6172
Prof. Dr. R.G.E. Timmermans (Rob) Faculty of Science and Engineering 3570
Dr. B. van Hoven (Bettina) University College Groningen 3512
Mr. Dr. J.J. Dijkstra (Jaap) Faculty of Law 5748
C. de Boer (Casper) Student -

W.H. Dam (Wiebe) Student -
J.K. Scholtens (Jaap)       Student -
A.S. de Wit (Alex) Student -

G. Verhoeff (Gijs) Student, University Council -
K. de Vrijer (Kathelijne) Student-assessor of the Board of the University -
Drs. C.H. Santing (Carina) OSK, secretaris 5133
A.C. Constandse (Arthur), MA OSK, 2de secretaris 5133
Last modified:14 February 2019 2.43 p.m.
printView this page in: Nederlands