Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us Organization Services Teaching Academy Groningen

Meet the winners of the Best Practice in Teaching & Learning Award 2023!

28 March 2023
decorative image
Winners of the 2023 Best Practice Awards

All 11 nominated practices were of the highest quality, making it challenging for the Selection Committee to select this year’s winner. Congratulations to prof. dr Marc Hertogh from the Faculty of Law on winning the Best Practice in Teaching & Learning Award with his course "Seminar Policy Analysis" and to the runners-up Tamás Görbe of the Faculty of Science and Engineering and Dr Tassos Sarampalis and Laurent Krook of the Faculty of Behavioral and Social Sciences.  

The Best Practice of 2023: Students in the Dutch House of Representatives

Prof. dr. Marc Hertogh applied the ideas of law in practice and employability within his best practice course "Seminar Policy Analysis". In this class, students participated in a real-life law-making trajectory for the Dutch House of Representatives. Students participated in the ongoing law-making process of the new Whistle-blower Protection Act. Ultimately, recommendations made by students were integrated into the law-making process and considered during the House of Representatives deliberations, allowing the students to make a tangible societal impact during their educational experience. The Selection Committee has decided to award this practice as a great example of active student engagement, incorporating elements of employability and societal impact in the learning experience.

Knowledge clips

In addition to the winner, the Selection Committee has selected two runners-up. Dr Tamás Görbe (Faculty of Science and Engineering) is awarded for implementing short, self-created interactive instructional videos, called knowledge clips, in his teaching. This best practice is a great example of transferability and provides students with various ways of learning, fitting to their needs and qualities.

Tailored research methods course

The other runners-up are the teaching team of Dr Tassos Sarampalis and Laurent Krook (Faculty of Behavioral and Social Sciences). Their course "Research Methods: Theory and Ethics" is a great example of how to make connections with and among students in large group sizes. It also shows how to facilitate different ambitions and give students the power to structure their learning experience by using a variety of weekly assessment assignments.

Learn more

Congratulations to all winners and nominees! If you would like to learn more about this year's nominees, please browse the nomination videos. If you would like to see the Ceremony, make sure to check out the recording.

decorative image
Nominees and winners 2023 with Rector Magnificus, Cisca Wijmenga (right)
Last modified:28 March 2023 12.27 p.m.
View this page in: Nederlands

More news

  • 16 April 2024

    UG signs Barcelona Declaration on Open Research Information

    In a significant stride toward advancing responsible research assessment and open science, the University of Groningen has officially signed the Barcelona Declaration on Open Research Information.

  • 02 April 2024

    Flying on wood dust

    Every two weeks, UG Makers puts the spotlight on a researcher who has created something tangible, ranging from homemade measuring equipment for academic research to small or larger products that can change our daily lives. That is how UG...

  • 18 March 2024

    VentureLab North helps researchers to develop succesful startups

    It has happened to many researchers. While working, you suddenly ask yourself: would this not be incredibly useful for people outside of my own research discipline? There are many ways to share the results of your research. For example, think of a...