Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us Faculty of Arts Our faculty Organisatie Disciplines European Languages and Cultures

Chair group Politics and Society

Name Position Expertise Language specialty

Stefan Couperus

Associate professor

political, social, and urban history of modern Europe; political and democratic theory; urban governance

Dutch, English

Elizaveta Gaufman

Assistant professor

international relations, political theory, sociolinguistics, Russia, Post-Soviet space

Russian, English

David Jäger

PhD candidate

critical theory

Rachel Johnston-White

Assistant professor

political, religious, and social history of modern Europe; human rights

English, French

Léonie de Jonge

Assistant professor

comparative politics; populism; Western Europe; European politics; the far right; mediatisaion of politics

Benjamin Leruth

Assistant professor

European integration; social and welfare policy; comparative politics; Euroscepticism; democratic innovations

English, French

Stephen Milder

Assistant professor

political, social, and environmental history of modern Europe; history of social movements and democracy

German, English

Lars Rensmann

Full professor

European politics and society; political and critical theory; crises of democracy; populist politics; antisemitism; politics & sports; politics of climate change

German, English

Samuel Salzborn

Visiting Fellow

political theory, political sociology, democracy research

Pier Domenico Tortola

Assistant professor

European integration and institutions; State theory and institutionalism; Social science methodology; Italian politics

English, Italian
Simon Tunderman Lecturer

political theory; populism; European integration; political economy

Dutch, English, German

Agnes Wankmüller

PhD candidate

radical right and social media

Affiliated members

Name Position Expertise Language specialty

Hugh McDonnell

Assistant professor

French, Spanish and European 20th century history, culture, literature and politics.

English, Spanish, French

Last modified:16 February 2021 3.42 p.m.
printView this page in: Nederlands