Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
Education Honours College

Dr. Steffen Eriksen wins the Honours College Award - UG Best Practice Award 2022

11 April 2022
dr. Steffen Erikson wins the UG Best Practice in Teaching and Learning Honours College Award 2022
dr. Steffen Erikson wins the UG Best Practice in Teaching and Learning Honours College Award 2022

Each year, UG’s community gathers to celebrate good teaching and learning practices within the University. A celebration formerly known as the Teacher of the Year Award has evolved into the Best Practice Awards, and its first edition had its finale on the 8th of April, 2022.

This year’s edition was remarkable not only because of the new formula of the event, but also thanks to the innovative award that the Honours College has offered to the winner of the student online vote.

The winner of the Honours College Award, dr. Steffen Eriksen, will be given the opportunity by the Honours College to develop an educational innovation and practice it within our community!

Dr. Eriksen is an economist and econometrist with a passion that he is happy to share with his students at the Faculty of Business and Economics. Dr. Eriksen has won the Honours College Award for his innovative approach to blended learning during the transition to online education. As the coordinator of the Asset Pricing and Capital Budgeting course, he would stream his lectures live on Twitch, a streaming platform primarily dedicated to video gaming. In addition, Dr. Eriksen has made use of Youtube and Discord to create an online community for his students. Within that community, students could re-watch his streams, exchange thoughts with each other, and talk to Dr. Eriksen himself.

The Honours College community is pleased to congratulate Dr. Eriksen on his Award. We are all excited to work with Dr. Eriksen closely as he develops and practices an educational innovation within the Honours College. Tune in soon to read an interview with Dr. Eriksen in which he paints his vision for the future of this project!

UG Best Practice in Teaching and Learning Award 2022

Watch the Award Ceremony video
Last modified:04 May 2022 2.04 p.m.

More news

  • 12 May 2022

    KNAW appoints two UG professors as members

    The Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW) has appointed Professor Maria Loi and Professor Dirk Slotboom from the Faculty of Science and Engineering as members of the Academy.

  • 15 March 2022

    Vici grants for three UG researchers

    The Dutch Research Council (NWO) has awarded three Vici grants, worth €1.5 million each, to three UG researchers. Prof. J.W Romeijn, Prof. S. Hoekstra, Prof. K.I. Caputi can use this money to develop an innovative line of research and to set up...

  • 20 December 2021

    Enthusiastic convert preaches sustainable business

    Reaching out to sustainable business owners is what Gjalt de Jong is all about. He sees the University as a director of innovation. An independent arbiter who can expedite the shift to a circular economy. To this end, he first needed to change...