Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About usOur positionQuality Works!The Aletta Jacobs Prize

Laureates 1990 - present

The Aletta Jacobs Prize has been awarded to:

  • 1990 dr. M. Bruijn-Hundt (Senior Lecturer at the University of Amsterdam), Economics, for her great academic and social commitment to promoting the economic independence of women (she died in 1998).
  • 1992 prof. dr. G. Lycklama à Nijeholt (Dean of the Institute for Social Studies), Sociology, Women and Development, for her academic and strategic insights and her commitment in the field of women and development, both at home and abroad (she died in 2014).
  • 1994 drs. Liesbeth Brandt Corstius (Director of the Arnhem Museum of Modern Art), Art, for her great commitment to improving the position of women artists and women in the art world.
  • 1996 prof. mr. Jenny E. Goldschmidt (Professor of Women’s Studies at Leiden University and Utrecht University and chairwoman of the Equal Opportunities Committee), Law, for her great academic and social commitment in the field of equal opportunities and human rights, especially women and law.
  • 1998 dr. Gunilla Kleiverda (gynaecologist at the Flevo Hospital in Almere), Medicine, for her great commitment to healthcare for women, especially in the fight against sexual violence against women.
  • 2000 dr. H. Verwey-Jonker (former member of the Upper House of Parliament), Economics, for her contribution towards the field of twentieth-century emancipation (she died in 2004).
  • 2002 drs. Hedy d’Ancona, for her significant contribution to the emancipation of women at home and abroad.
  • 2004 mr. Gabi van Driem (lawyer), for her significant contribution to the emancipation of women in the Netherlands.
  • 2006 prof. Riek Bakker (urban development), for her innovative work in urban development
  • 2008 mr. Lilian Gonçalves (jurist), for her strong and broad social involvement and her commitment to human rights, particularly women’s rights.
  • 2010 drs. Neelie Kroes ( European Commissioner for Digital Agenda), for the major social impact of her work and the clear exemplary role she plays in positions that are sometimes unique and often powerful
  • 2012 dr. Els Borst-Eilers (former Minister of Health, Welfare and Sport) (she died in 2014)
  • 2014 dr. Noeleen Heyzer (Under-Secretary-General of the United Nations and Executive Secretary of the United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP), for her efforts to improve the treatment of women, particularly in Asia
  • 2016 drs. Petra Stienen (Arabist and publicist), on account of her ability to ensure that women’s voices are heard loudly and clearly, both in and outside the Netherlands. She creates room for ‘the other voice’ of women and men in the Dutch and Arab worlds.
  • 2018 drs. Lilian Ploumen (politician), for her commitment to and successful endeavours for the rights of women and girls all over the world.

Last modified:14 June 2019 3.01 p.m.
printView this page in: Nederlands