Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About usOur positionFacts and figuresPrizes and awards

Nobel Prize Winners

The will of the Swedish inventor Alfred Nobel established the prizes in 1895. The prizes in Chemistry, Literature, Peace, Physics, and Physiology or Medicine were first awarded in 1901.




Professor Ben Feringa won a Nobel Prize for Chemistry for his work on the development of molecular machines.


Professor Frits Zernike won a Nobel Prize for Physics for his invention of the phase contrast microscope while working as a professor at the UG.


Albert Szent-Györgyi won a Nobel Prize for Physiology and Medicine for his research on cellular respiration and vitamin C at the University of Szeged, after working as a researcher at the UG.


Heike Kamerlingh Onnes won a Nobel Prize for Physics for his investigations into the properties of matter at low temperatures at Leiden University, after gaining his PhD from the UG.

Last modified:22 January 2020 4.06 p.m.
printView this page in: Nederlands