Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About usOur positionFacts and figuresPrizes and awardsThe Nobel Prize

About the Nobel Prize


The will of the Swedish inventor Alfred Nobel established the prizes in 1895. The prizes in Chemistry, Literature, Peace, Physics, and Physiology or Medicine were first awarded in 1901. The related Nobel Memorial prize in Economic Sciences was established by Sweden’s central bank in 1968. Between 1901 and 2015, the Nobel Prizes and the Prize in Economic Sciences were awarded 573 times to 870 individuals (822 men and 48 women) and 23 organizations. Among these were Heike Kamerlingh Onnes (a former student at the UG), Albert Szent-Györgyi (a former researcher at the UG) and Frits Zernike (full professor at the UG). Zernike received the prize in 1953.

Most prestigious award

The prize ceremonies take place annually in Stockholm, Sweden (with the exception of the peace prize, which is held in Oslo, Norway). Each recipient, or laureate, receives a gold medal, a diploma, and a sum of money that has been decided by the Nobel Foundation (about € 0.93 million). The Nobel Prize is widely regarded as the most prestigious award available in the fields of literature, medicine, physics, chemistry, peace, and economics.

Who awards the prize?

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences awards the Nobel Prize in Physics, the Nobel Prize in Chemistry, and the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences; the Nobel Assembly at Karolinska Institutet awards the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine; the Swedish Academy grants the Nobel Prize in Literature; and the Nobel Peace Prize is awarded not by a Swedish organisation but by the Norwegian Nobel Committee.

Last modified:09 August 2018 4.04 p.m.
printView this page in: Nederlands