Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About usNews and EventsEvents and open daysEducation dayLecturer of the Year

Jury report for Awarding the Lecturer of the Year Award 2015.

Sculpture by Joek van Draanen
Sculpture by Joek van Draanen

On behalf of the jury, I want to thank all teachers for their excellent presentations today. It was a joy and an engaging learning experience to listen and to see how you perform magic. You have all shown us today your drive and passion for excellent teaching and that in only 9 minutes. As prizes come, only one can win, but on behalf of the jury I want to stress that all of you are to be praised for your efforts today, and more generally for your outstanding teaching efforts, as detailed in the reports of your respective faculties. However, as said, we can only let one candidate win the prize.

The University of Groningen Teacher of the year award 2015 is awarded to Niels Taatgen, Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences:

Professor Taatgen is an outstanding lecturer in his field and in his faculty according to the report provided by the faculty. His contribution to excellent teaching are manifold. First and foremost, as a lecturer he stimulates and challenges students to do their best. He is very much student-oriented in his teaching and does so in an interactive and innovating learning environment. He leaves student to seek their own paths to understanding, give valuable feedback and provides an open environment for students to thrive. His innovative teaching methods, using experimental settings and tying this in with scientific research and modelling approaches in the classroom gives students an acute sense of the relevance of detail and abstraction. His involvement in the initiation and development of the curriculum, adapting it to new scientific horizons and introducing new ways of testing, is very much appreciated by students. His presentation today shows his enthusiasm for his field and the way how he entertains his audience. It is for these reasons that Niels Taatgen receives the Teacher of the year Award 2015.

Prof. dr. O. Couwenberg, President of the jury

Last modified:20 June 2018 10.12 a.m.
printView this page in: Nederlands