Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us Organization Quality assurance Education Policy Enlight

What is ENLIGHT?

The University of Groningen is a member of the  ENLIGHT European University which brings together 10 research-intensive universities throughout Europe.  ENLIGHT aims to create and integrate our institutions to facilitate mobility of students and staff and the sharing of resources to build opportunities for collaboration in teaching and learning, and research and innovation among the 10 partner institutions. The ENLIGHT universities are: University of the Basque Country, University of Bern, University of Bordeaux, Comenius University Bratislava, University of Galway, Ghent University, University of Göttingen, University of Groningen, University of Tartu and Uppsala University. 

What if students studying at a university in a certain country in Europe could automatically get access to the best courses, best teachers and best professors at 8 other European universities? What if teachers would be facilitated to learn and share educational ideas with other teachers from those universities? What if researchers are provided with a way to share ideas with researchers from the other universities to solve local, national and global problems?

That is what ENLIGHT, a new European University Alliance, is about: ten diverse universities, including the University of Groningen, shaping the education of the future.

In the first three years ENLIGHT we have focused on five themes to pilot new learning formats: climate change, health and well-being, inequality, digital revolution, energy and circularity. For the next phase, which started in November 2023, we have added an additional theme: culture and creativity.