Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us Organization Quality assurance Education Policy Enlight

What is ENLIGHT?

ENLIGHT brings together nine comprehensive, research-intensive universities, which share a deep committment to their social responsibility. The ENLIGHT universities are: University of the Basque Country, University of Bordeaux, Comenius University Bratislava, National University Ireland Galway, Ghent University, University of Göttingen, University of Groningen, University of Tartu and Uppsala University 

What if students studying at a university in a certain country in Europe could automatically get access to the best courses, best teachers and best professors at 8 other European universities? What if teachers would be facilitated to learn and share educational ideas with other teachers from those universities? What if researchers are provided with a way to share ideas with researchers from the other universities to solve local, national and global problems?

That is what ENLIGHT, a new European University Alliance, is about: nine diverse universities, including the University of Groningen, shaping the education of the future.

Over the next three years ENLIGHT will focus on five themes to pilot new learning formats: climate change, health and well-being, inequality, digital revolution, energy and circularity. In the long term ENLIGHT wants to create an open space between the nine universities for learning, teaching and working together. It wants to empower learners as globally engaged citizens with state-of-the-art knowledge, skills, and innovation potential to tackle the major societal transition and to promote equitable quality of life and sustainability.


Last modified:24 May 2023 1.54 p.m.
View this page in: Nederlands