Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
OnderzoekUrban and Regional Studies InstituteResearch projectsCoastal Resilience Research Group

Research projects

The research of CRRG is rigorous, interdisciplinary, and international in terms of the research projects and partnerships but also topics addressed.

Ongoing projects

  • ‘Flood resilient cities? Resilience strategies in flood risk management and urban planning’ ms. B. Restemeyer (b.restemeyer@rug.nl). Funding: Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research, NWO.
  • ‘Resilience to River Flooding in the Netherlands and the United Kingdom’ mr. Steven Forrest (s.a.forrest@rug.nl). Funding: University of Groningen.
  • ‘Tourism in vulnerable coastal areas’ mr. J. Heslinga (j.h.heslinga@rug.nl). Funding: University Campus Fryslân [http://ucf.nl/] & Waddenacademie [http://www.waddenacademie.nl/]
  • 'Governance of social-ecological systems in the face of disasters - towards resilience and sustainability' ms. M. Bakema (m.m.bakema@rug.nl). Funding: Ubbo Emmius (University of Groningen).
  • ‘Arts, resilience and community involvement in coastal North Netherlands’ ms. G. van der Vaart (g.van.der.vaart@rug.nl), dr. B. van Hoven (b.van.hoven@rug.nl). Funding: Ubbo Emmius (University of Groningen).
  • ‘Coastal regions in transition: regional identity and (touristic) development’ dr. T. Haartsen (t.haartsen@rug.nl).
  • ‘Liveability and economic strength of coastal rural areas’ prof. dr. D. Strijker (d.strijker@rug.nl). Funding: University Campus Fryslân.
  • ‘The Wadden Sea Region: towards a science for sustainable development’ prof. dr. J. van Dijk (jouke.van.dijk@rug.nl). In collaboration with the Waddenacademie [http://www.waddenacademie.nl/]

Completed projects

  • Between the Tides’. Comparative arts and humanities approaches to living with(in) intertidal landscapes in UK & the Netherlands. Learning from those who live and work with complexity, change and fragility.’ Dr. B. van Hoven, co-investigator (b.van.hoven@rug.nl), principal investigator: dr. Owain Jones (University of Gloucestershire). Funding: The Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO) and The Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC), UK, Humanities Research Networking and Exchange Scheme.
  • ‘Integration of sustainable energy and the landscape: resilience and regional rural development’ ms. J. de Boer (jessica.de.boer@rug.nl), dr. C. Zuidema (c.zuidema@rug.nl). Macredes project [http://www.edgar-program.com/projects/c6] & DELaND project [http://www.groengasproject.eu/Projecten/DELaND.html]. Funding: EU (Interreg 4); Gasunie
  • ‘Wadden Sea Long-Term Ecosystem Research’ dr. F. Sijtsma (f.j.sijtsma@rug.nl), dr. N. Mehnen (n.mehnen@rug.nl). WALTER-project [www.walterproject.nl]. Funding: The Waddenfonds; with supporting contributions from the Provinces of Noord-Holland and Fryslân.
  • ‘Resilience, sustainability and institutional innovations for urban and coastal regions’ prof. dr. J.Woltjer (j.woltjer@rug.nl). Funding: Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research, NWO.
Last modified:22 November 2017 11.53 a.m.