Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
Over onsMedische WetenschappenResearchDepartment of Genetics
University Medical Center Groningen

Knighthood and endowed chair for Cisca Wijmenga

20 September 2018
Cisca Wijmenga receives knighthood

Department Professor Cisca Wijmenga has been named a knight in the Order of the Netherlands Lion, a royal honour given to those who have rendered extraordinary services of exceptional value to society. The honour was presented to Cisca by Groningen City Alderman Mattias Gijsbertsen at the close of the symposium on 19 September to celebrate the inauguration of the Lodewijk Sandkuil endowed chair.

This endowed chair was awarded to Cisca by the board of the University of Groningen in 2017. It is named in honour of Lodewijk Sandkuijl (1953-2002), who is regarded as one of founding fathers of statistical genetics. Lodewijk’s work was fundamental to the development of methods to unravel the role of inherited factors in complex disorders and traits, and it was Cisca's choice to name the chair after him.

You can read more about the knighthood and the endowed chair (in Dutch) here and here.

Last modified:24 September 2018 10.30 a.m.

More news

  • 16 October 2018

    Digital Society Conference Dutch universities

    Digital information technology is permeating society ever deeper. It is now clear that digitalization will radically change virtually every aspect of society, not only in the Netherlands but across the world. That is why 14 Dutch universities, associated...

  • 09 October 2018

    What the world really needs to know about leadership

    ‘Do you know how often organizations select the wrong manager?’, asks Janka Stoker. ‘Recent research carried out by Gallup shows that this happens in a staggering 82% of cases! These managers were often chosen just because they happened to be very...

  • 02 October 2018

    Young Academy Groningen welcomes eight new members

    The Young Academy Groningen (YAG) has appointed eight new members from diverse disciplines at the University of Groningen. Dr Laura Bringmann, dr Jan Willem Bolderdijk, dr Nanna Hilton, dr Tina Kretschmer, dr Jocelien Olivier, dr Saskia Peels, dr Marleen...