Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
Over onsMedische WetenschappenResearchDepartment of GeneticsStaff
University Medical Center Groningen

Senior Clinical and Research Staff

All staff can be reached at the following address and telephone number:
Dept. of Genetics CB50, University Medical Center Groningen
P.O. Box 30.001, 9700 RB  GRONINGEN, the Netherlands

Telephone +31 50 3617100, Fax + 31 50 3617231, Email

Name Position
Principal investigators
Prof. Nine Knoers, MD, PhD Head of Department

Prof. Richard Sinke, PhD

Head of Genome Diagnostics
Prof. Cisca Wijmenga, PhD Principal investigator, Spinoza prize winner, complex diseases
Prof. Lude Franke, PhD Head of Research and Education section, bioinformatics, ERC and VIDI grant holder, Associate professor
Prof. Irene van Langen, MD, PhD Head of Clinical Genetics section
Prof. Conny van Ravenswaaij, MD, PhD Professor of Clinical Dysmorphology
Prof. Rolf Sijmons, MD, PhD

Head of Development and Innovation section, Professor of Medical Translational Genetics, clinical geneticist

Prof. Morris Swertz, PhD Head of Genomics Coordination Center, GCC Wiki, Head of Systems Genetics section, Associate professor
Prof. Dineke Verbeek, PhD Rosalind Franklin Fellow, Associate professor, neurogenetics
Prof. Jingyuan Fu, PhD Associate professor, bioinformatics, VIDI grant holder
Prof. Alexandra (Sasha) Zhernakova, MD, PhD Rosalind Franklin Fellow, Associate professor, VIDI grant holder, Genetic and environmental factors in autoimmune and gastrointestinal diseases and ageing
Yang Li, PhD Assistant professor, VENI and Off-Road grant holder
Iris Jonkers, PhD Rosalind Franklin Fellow, VIDI grant holder, senior researcher in Wijmenga group
Sebo Withoff, PhD Assistant professor, senior researcher in Wijmenga group, complex diseases
Serena Sanna, PhD Senior researcher in Wijmenga group, complex diseases
Vinod Kumar Magadi Gopalaiah, PhD Assistant professor, functional genomics in infectious diseases
Yvonne Vos, PhD Clinical molecular geneticist
Jan Jongbloed, PhD Clinical molecular geneticist
Jan C. Oosterwijk, MD, PhD Clinical geneticist
Mieke Kerstjens, MD, PhD Clinical geneticist
Peter van den Akker, MD, PhD Clinical geneticist and research fellow, genetic skin disorders, head of DEB database
Paul van der Zwaag, MD, PhD Clinical geneticist, researcher in cardiogenetics group
Cleo van Diemen, PhD Coordinator of Next-Generation Sequencing, Genome Analysis Facility, Development and Innovation section
Birgit Sikkema-Raddatz, PhD Genome diagnostics, Development and Innovation section
Kristin Abbott, PhD Genome diagnostics
Helga Westers, PhD Teaching coordinator, and researcher in Development and Innovation section
Klaas Kok, PhD Senior researcher, Development and Innovation section
Tom de Koning, MD, PhD Senior researcher, inborn errors of metabolism
Eva van der Berg, PhD Associate professor, clinical cytogenetics
Hermien de Walle, PhD Senior epidemiologist, Head of EUROCAT
Jeantine Lunshof, PhD

Assistant professor, philosopher, ethicist

Chan Li, PhD Researcher in Wijmenga celiac group
David van Enckevort
Pieter Neerincx
Genomics Coordination Center
Monique van der Wijst, PhD Researcher in Franke group
Sipko van Dam, PhD Researcher in Franke group
Alex Kurilshikov, PhD Researcher in Zhernakova and Fu microbiome group
Esther de Haas, PhD University College training coordinator
Mirjam Plantinga, PhD ELSI, ethicist
For a list of PhD students see here
Prof. Anneke Lucassen, PhD past holder of Johanna H. Bijtel Chair (2014-2016) and Director of the Clinical Ethics and Law Centre, University of Southampton, UK
Laatst gewijzigd:10 juli 2018 16:06