Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
Over onsMedische WetenschappenResearchDepartment of GeneticsStaff
University Medical Center Groningen

All research staff

The research section comprises PhD students, postdocs and senior staff with backgrounds in genetics, molecular biology, statistical genetics, epidemiology and bioinformatics. It is a lively, international group with researchers and staff from Germany, UK, Portugal, Spain, Italy, Greece, Turkey, Jordan, Czech Republic, Slovenia, Macedonia, Hungary, Poland, Finland, Estonia, Russia, Iran, Tanzania, India, China, Indonesia, Brazil, Peru, Colombia, Mexico, USA and of course, the Netherlands. See where we come from map

All staff can be reached at the following address: Dept. of Genetics, University Medical Center Groningen
P.O. Box 30.001, 9700 RB Groningen, the Netherlands. Telephone +31 50 3617100, Fax +31 50 3617230, Email



Principal investigators

Prof. Richard Sinke, PhD

Interim Head of Genetics Department

Prof. Cisca Wijmenga, PhD

Spinoza prize winner, Principal investigator

Prof. Irene van Langen, MD, PhD

Head of Clinical Genetics section

Prof. Rolf Sijmons, MD, PhD

Head of Development and Innovation section, Professor of Medical Translational Genetics

Prof. Conny van Ravenswaaij, MD, PhD Professor of Clinical Dysmorphology

Prof. Morris Swertz, PhD

Associate professor of Sysems Genetics, Head of Genomics Coordination Center, Wiki page Head of Systems Genetics section

Prof. Lude Franke, PhD Associate professor, Head of Research and Education section, Bioinformatics, ERC and VIDI grant holder
Prof. Jingyuan Fu, PhD Associate professor, Bioinformatics, VIDI grant holder
Prof. Alexandra (Sasha) Zhernakova, MD, PhD Associate professor, holder of VIDI and ERC starting grants, Rosalind Franklin Fellow, Genetic and environmental factors in autoimmune and gastrointestinal diseases and ageing

Eva van der Berg, PhD

Associate professor, Cytogenetics

Vinod Kumar Magadi Gopalaiah, PhD Assistant professor, Complex diseases

Gerard te Meerman, PhD

Emeritus Associate professor, Mathematical genetics

Iris Jonkers, PhD Rosalind Franklin Fellow, VIDI grant holder

Prof. Dineke Verbeek, PhD

Rosalind Franklin Fellow, Associate professor, neurogenetics

Yvonne Vos, PhD

Clinical molecular geneticist

Jan Jongbloed, PhD

Clinical molecular geneticist

Mieke Kerstjens, MD, PhD

Clinical geneticist

Jan C. Oosterwijk, MD, PhD Clinical geneticist
Peter van den Akker, MD, PhD Clinical geneticist and research fellow, genetic skin disorders, head of DEB database

Birgit Sikkema-Raddatz, PhD

Researcher, Genome diagnostics, Development and Innovation section

Klaas Kok, PhD

Senior researcher

Hermien de Walle, PhD

Epidemiologist, Head of EUROCAT

Sebo Withoff, PhD Assistant professor, Senior researcher in Wijmenga group, complex diseases
Serena Sanna, PhD Senior researcher in Wijmenga group, complex diseases
Yang Li, PhD Assistant professor, VENI and Off-Road grant holder
Cleo van Diemen, PhD Coordinator of Next-Generation Sequencing

Helga Westers, PhD

Teaching coordinator, and Development and Innovation section

Tom de Koning, MD, PhD

Senior researcher, inborn errors of metabolism

Jeantine Lunshof, PhD Assistant professor, philosopher, ethicist


Rudolf Fehrmann, PhD Bioinformatician/researcher in Franke group
Monique van der Wijst, PhD Researcher in Franke group
Sipko van Dam, PhD Researcher in Franke group

Alex Kurilshikov, PhD

Researcher in Zhernakova group
Chan Li, PhD Postdoc in Wijmenga group
Eleanora (Noortje) Festen, MD, PhD Researcher in Wijmenga/Weersma group
Peter van den Akker, MD, PhD Clinical geneticist, researcher, head of DEB database
Paul van der Zwaag, MD, PhD Clinical geneticist, researcher

Genomics Coordination Center

Morris Swertz, PhD

Head of Genomics Coordination Center
For other GCC staff, see here

PhD students

Chantal Deden

Sinke group

Adriaan van der Graaf

Wijmenga group
Ruggero Barbieri Wijmenga group
Raul Aguirre Gambo Wijmenga group
Maria Zorro Manrique Wijmenga group
Aaron Ramirez Sanchez Wijmenga group
Soesma Medema-Jankipersadsing Wijmenga group
Isis Ricano Wijmenga group
Juha Karjalainen Wijmenga group
Suzanne van Someren, MD MD-PhD student in Wijmenga group
Patrick Deelen Swertz/Wijmenga group, GCC
Freerk van Dijk Swertz/Wijmenga group, GCC
Chao Pang Swertz/Wijmenga group, GCC
Ellen Carbo Swertz/Wijmenga group, GCC
Le Thi Thien Kieu Wijmenga/Jonkers group
Roeland Broekema Wijmenga/Jonkers group
Vicky Matzaraki Wijmenga/Kumar group
Marion Dam Franke group
Annique Claringbould Franke group
Niek de Klein Franke group

Lennart Johannsson
Alan Weij

Sijmons group

Joost Hof Sijmons group
Ferronika Paranita Sijmons group
Mohamed Alimohamed Sijmons group
Miaozhen Huang Verbeek group
Anne Herkert Van Langen group
Julia el Mecky Van Langen group
Tanya Halbersma Van Langen group
Juliette Schuurmans Van Langen group
Joeri van der Velde Swertz/Sinke group, GCC
Danique Vlaskamp MD-PhD student in Van Ravenswaaij group
Aafke Engwerda MD-PhD student in Van Ravenswaaij group
Christa de Geus Van Ravenswaaij group
Dieuwertje Dijk Van Ravenswaaij group

Renee Zwanenburg

Van Ravenswaaij group
Nicole Corsten-Janssen Van Ravenswaaij group
Monica Wong Van Ravenswaaij group

Research Technicians

Jan Osinga

Head of research lab

Mathieu Platteel Manager of lab data production unit

Ludolf Boven

Technician and webmaster

Michiel Fokkens

Research technician

Astrid Maatman Research technician

Bianca van Rijkom

Research technician

Rutger Modderman Research technician

Genome Analysis Facility

Prof. R.H. Sijmons, Head of Development and Innovation section

Facility manager, Email

Cleo van Diemen Coordinator of Next-Generation Sequencing service

Jelkje Bergsma


Bahram Sanjabi


Scientific editors

Jackie Senior, BSc

Editor and webmaster

Kate Mc Intyre, PhD Associate editor and webmaster

Laatst gewijzigd:22 november 2017 18:38