Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
Over onsFaculteit Ruimtelijke WetenschappenOrganisatieLezingen en symposiaHerta Macht thesis prize

Herta Macht Thesis Prize

The 2018 Herta Macht Thesis Prize

In 2018, the Herta Macht Thesis Prize will be awarded for the thirteenth time by the Faculty of Spatial Sciences of the University of Groningen. The prize, comprising a sum of € 1,000 and a memento, is expected to be awarded in Groningen in June 2018. The Thesis Prize aims to recognize young talent in the Spatial Sciences and to promote the cultural aspects and social relevance of the Spatial Sciences.


Registrations must be received by the Faculty of Spatial Sciences by Tuesday 20 March 2018 at the latest. Please register by completing the registration form on the website: .

A Master thesis qualifies if it is no more than two years old and has been awarded a mark of 8 or more.

Upon registration, the following elements must be submitted, completed and in digital (PDF) format:

  • the registration form
  • a letter of recommendation by the Master thesis supervisor, explicitly addressing how the Master thesis meets the Herta Macht prize requirements and assessment criteria
  • a summary of about half an A4 sheet
  • the Master thesis

Your digital copies (PDF) can be e-mailed to:

The Faculty of Spatial Sciences would also like to receive a paper copy of the Master thesis. Please send it to:
University of Groningen
Faculty of Spatial Sciences,
attn. secretariat Cultural and Economic Geography
P.O. Box 800

Previous Herta Macht Thesis Prize winners

2017: The Herta Macht Thesis Prize 2017 has been won by Rik Huizinga of University of Groningen with his thesis: “Place attachment: Syrian male refugee experiences in the Northern Netherlands”. Download the thesis abstract.

2016: The winner of 2016 is Carmen Pérez del Pulgar Frowein of University of Amsterdam with her thesis: Porosity of multilingual spaces. Download the thesis abstract

2015: In 2015, the jury decided that a shared first prize was the most appropriate outcome because of the high quality of the shortlisted contenders. Therefore the 2015 Herta Macht Thesis Prize was shared by:

  • Konstantinos Gourzis (Radboud University Nijmegen) with his thesis: Fashion in Gentrifying Urban Spaces: The case of the Fashion Quarter in Klarendal, Arnhem. An observation from the jury’s report: “A research with a surprising approach and both socially and scientifically relevant topic. The structure and readability is fine. The study was conducted methodologically well, with a good combination of primary and secondary data collection. The holistic approach is excellent.”
  • Thaddeus Bergé (Radboud University Nijmegen) with his thesis: The Soyazation of Argentina: An Actor Network Analysis of the Soya Production in the Argentine Provinces of Chaco and Santiago del Estero. An observation from the jury’s report: “A brave decision of Bergé to see how far the ANT-approach extends presented in an empirical study of the soybean sector in two Argentine provinces. He manages to make the transition from theoretical considerations of Latour to fieldwork among actors in the soy sector. He overcomes many practical problems (language, distance, accessibility to reactants) and comes to convincing conclusions. Innovative - finally we have a study that shows what may constitute an ANT approach. I hope Bergé can muster the energy to condense his thesis to an article in a leading academic journal.”

2014: Kolar Aparna (Radboud University) won the prize with her Master thesis: Re-mapping the U.S.-Mexico Border.

2013: Renske van der Wal (University of Groningen) with her Master thesis: Plaatsbetekenis in hospices Een casestudy in de hospice van Groningen.

2012: Jeroen Beekmans (University of Amsterdam) with his Master thesis: Check-In Urbanism. Exploring Gentrification through Foursquare Activity.

2011: Marloes van Houten (University of Amsterdam) with her Master thesis: Nepal’s Civil War and its Impact Conflict Impact, Social Capital and Resilient Institutions in the CPN-Maoist Heartland Communities.

2010: Michiel van den Bergh (University of Amsterdam) with his Master thesis: Destructive Attraction: Blue Birds-of-paradise and local inhabitants; an equilibrium?

2009: Anu Kõu (University of Groningen) with her Master thesis on Estonian migrants to the Netherlands, entitled: Perceived Consequences of Migration on the Social Networks and Adaptation of Long-Term Migrants: Estonians in the Netherlands.

2008: Denise Kroes (Utrecht University) won the prize with a thesis entitled: Community-Based Tourism: a Way out of Poverty?

2007: Vincent Breen (University of Groningen) with his Master thesis: Roadside Monuments: Sites for Reflection.

2006: Marieke van der Sloot (University of Amsterdam) won the very first Thesis Prize in 2006, with a thesis on young Tibetans in India, entitled: I-Eye Tibet: Autovideographies Depicting Ethno-National Identity in the Daily Lives of Young Tibetans in Dharamsala, India.

Laatst gewijzigd:24 januari 2018 09:15