Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
Education University of Groningen Summer Schools Winter Schools


Maarten Loonen
Maarten Loonen

Arctic Centre, Associated Professor
Educated as biologist, ecologist
More than 35 years of Arctic research and field work
Station leader of the Netherlands Arctic Station
Chairman of Ny-Ålesund Science Mangers Committee
Netherlands representative in the Arctic Council working group CAFF Conservation of Arctic Flora and Fauna

Sean Desjardins

Sean Desjardins

Arctic Centre, postdoctoral researcher
Educated in archaeology and anthropology
Research projects in northern Canada in close cooperation with the Inuit community
Representative to the Sustainable Development Working Group (SDWG) of the Arctic Council

Annette Scheepstra

Annette Scheepstra

Arctic Centre, coordinator external collaboration
Educated as a social scientist
Expertise in stakeholder involvement, transdisciplinary research
Dutch representative for EU-PolarNet
Former representative in SDWG

Richard Bintanja

Richard Bintanja

Honorary professor climate and environmental change and senior researcher climate change at the Royal Netherlands Meteorological Institute (KNMI)
Expert in climate models

Christopher Humprig

Christoph Humrich

Centre for International Relations, Assistant Professor
Educated as political scientist; started researching Arctic politics in 1998
Speaker of the German Political Science Association’s Thematic Group on Polar and Marine Politics
Expert in politics of Arctic governance and security

Kim Holmen

Kim Holmén

International director of the Norwegian Polar institute and former science director
Advisor to the Norwegian government in Arctic affairs
Trained as an atmospheric scientist
Living on Spitsbergen/Svalbard and witness of Arctic change

Last modified:07 November 2019 10.57 a.m.