Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
Alumni Nieuws

Summer Ceremony 3 July 2020

30 June 2020

Online Programme

Broadcast via YouTube live channel (click here to join)

1.45 - 2.00 pm - Opening (short, informal films)
2.00 - 2.20 pm - Ceremony

Ceremony presented by: mr. Mentko Nap

The Ceremony's programme:

The livestream will be available on 3 July starting 1.45 pm.


Get to know more about the prize winners and the alumni ambassadors

GUF-100 Prizes

The GUF-100 prizes for excellent students were first awarded in 1993, on the occasion of the 100th birthday of the Groningen University Fund (GUF). The prizes are awarded annually during an academic ceremony, the so-called Summer Ceremony. Each prize, awarded to the most excellent student from each faculty, comprises a grant of € 2500,- to be spent on studies or research.

Gratama Science Award

Starting in 2011, the Gratama Foundation has made an amount of € 25,000 available for an annual ‘Gratama Science Prize’ for the universities of Leiden and Groningen. The prize is awarded alternately by the universities in Groningen and Leiden to a promising young scientist.

Wierenga-Rengerink PhD Prize

De Wierenga Rengerink Dissertatieprijs 2020 wordt uitgereikt aan mr. dr. Arpi Karapetian. Deze prijs voor het beste proefschrift dat aan de RUG is geschreven bestaat uit een geldbedrag van € 7.500 en een penning. Karapetian is universitair docent bij de Faculteit Rechtsgeleerdheid. Haar proefschrift ging over de verantwoordelijkheid van bestuurders van noodlijdende ondernemingen tegenover schuldeisers en andere belanghebbenden.

Meet the ambassadors

Representing 14 countries across four continents, these young international graduates are ready to share their Groningen experiences with everyone interested: from prospective students to alumni and from businesses to universities. They volunteer to bridge the gap between their home countries and their Alma Mater.

Last modified:18 February 2021 2.34 p.m.
printView this page in: Nederlands

More news

  • 04 February 2021

    Molecule from nature provides fully recyclable polymers

    Plastics are among the most successful materials of modern times. However, they also create a huge waste problem. Scientists from the University of Groningen (The Netherlands) and the East China University of Science and Technology (ECUST) in...

  • 10 December 2020

    Aletta Jacobs Chairs: 15 female professors appointed

    On International Women’s Day this spring, Rector Magnificus Cisca Wijmenga announced that the UG would be creating 15 new chair positions for female professors, known as the Aletta Jacobs Chairs. Fifteen female professors will soon start their work...

  • 03 December 2020

    UG to award honorary doctorate to Feike Sijbesma

    On Friday 22 January 2021, the University of Groningen (UG) will award an honorary doctorate to Feike Sijbesma. The former CEO of DSM will be presented with his honorary doctorate by Rector Magnificus Cisca Wijmenga during the special Nobel...