Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us Latest news News

Four honorary doctorates awarded by the UG

27 May 2024

On Friday, 24 May, the UG awarded four honorary doctorates to Dr Kate Crawford, Dr Tedros Ghebreyesus, Gerrit Hiemstra and Prof. Mariana Mazzucato. The presentation took place in the Aula of the Academy Building and was part of the university's anniversary celebrations.

Rector magnificus Jacquelien Scherpen opened the ceremony after the honorary doctors and professors entered the Aulain togas. The honorary professors were then each addressed in the form of a laudatio by deans of the faculties of Arts, Medical Sciences, Science and Engineering and Economics and Business Administration. Each laudatio was followed by an official moment in which the honorary doctorate was awarded in the form of a bull and kappa (robe). A choir from student music society Bragi provided some musical interludes.

Due to unforeseen circumstances, honorary doctorates Tedros Ghebreyesus and Mariana Mazzucato could not attend the ceremony in person. They participated via a live connection.

Invited guests

Among the invited guests were friends and family of the honorary doctors, professors of the UG, the Board of the University, the mayor of Groningen, the deputy of the province and staff and students.

More information

Read more about the recipients and why they received honorary doctorates in this news article. Would you like to know more about the lustrum celebrations? Have a look at the photo overview.


View some of photographer Gerhard Taatgen's photos taken during the ceremony here:

Last modified:31 May 2024 08.13 a.m.
View this page in: Nederlands

More news