Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation

Aletta year: 20 April 2021 – 20 April 2022

UG honours Aletta Jacobs
Aletta Year News

Unveiling of portrait series of professors

02 November 2021
Prof. Clara Mulder (l) and Prof. Gerry Wakker and their portraits in the Senate Room
Prof. Clara Mulder (l) and Prof. Gerry Wakker and their portraits in the Senate Room

On Monday evening, 1 November, a new series of portraits were presented to our University. During this special moment, we celebrated the fact that no fewer than 20 portraits were donated to the UG between 2019 and 2021. Special attention was paid to 11 portraits of female professors, which were added to the Senate Room at the initiative of the Board of the University and the faculties. By giving these professors an extra prominent place, the UG wants to make it clear that it is a university where both men and women excel in their field. In addition, nine professors independently donated their portraits to the UG. Their portraits will hang in the faculty rooms of Medical Sciences, Arts, Economics and Business, and Behavioural and Social Sciences.’

The following professors have been portrayed:

Senate Room, placement 27 October, unveiling 1 November.

  • R.F. Curtain
  • E.M. Kneppers - Heijnert
  • E. J. Korthals Altes
  • C. H. Mulder
  • J. Peijnenburg
  • M.M. Roggenkamp
  • M.P.C. van der Werf
  • M.H. Verspoor
  • C. Vlaskamp
  • G. C. Wakker
  • J. van der Meer - Kooistra

Faculty rooms, unveiling 1 November

  • H.J. Busscher, Faculty of Medical Sciences
  • G.A. Mook, Faculty of Medical Sciences
  • J. Zaagsma, Faculty of Science en Engineering
  • J.L.N. Roodenburg, Faculty of Medical Sciences
  • J.M.M. Hooymans, Faculty of Medical Sciences
  • W.J. Van Bekkum, Faculty of Arts
  • A.J. Van Essen, Faculty of Arts
  • E.J. Knorth, Faculty of Behavioural and Social Sciences
  • T.J. Wansbeek, Faculty of Economics and Business
Last modified:05 November 2021 10.37 a.m.
View this page in: Nederlands

More news

  • 12 September 2023

    Art in times of AI

    Leonardo Arriagada Beltran conducted his PhD research on the interface of computer-generated art and the constantly evolving field of Artificial Intelligence (AI). He will defend his Phd thesis on 21 September. His research offers valuable insights...

  • 28 August 2023

    Harish Vedantham and Casper van der Kooi nominated for 'Wetenschapstalent 2023'

    Harish Vedantham and Casper van der Kooi have been nominated by New Scientist for Wetenschapstalent 2023 (Science Talent 2023). This election is meant to give young scientists and their research a stage.

  • 26 July 2023

    Five promising UG researchers to top institutes abroad on Rubicon grants

    No less than five promising PhD graduates from the University of Groningen will be able to conduct research at top institutes abroad for two years thanks to the Rubicon programme organized by the Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research...