Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us Practical matters Branding & Visual Identity House style basics Logo Logo bar


The house style dictates that Rijksuniversiteit Groningen/University of Groningen be written in full. Once the full name has been introduced, the abbreviations RUG (in Dutch) or UG (in English) can be used for subsequent occurrences in the body of the document. N.B. the format RuG (with a small ‘u’) is no longer in use.

Depiction of names, names of faculties and service units

The names of faculties and service units must be depicted as shown below.

  • Faculteit Religie, Cultuur en Maatschappij – Faculty of Religion, Culture and Society
  • Faculteit Rechtsgeleerdheid – Faculty of Law
  • Faculteit Medische Wetenschappen – Faculty of Medical Sciences
  • Faculty of Science and Engineering
  • Faculteit der Letteren – Faculty of Arts
  • Faculteit Economie en Bedrijfskunde – Faculty of Economics and Business
  • Faculteit Gedrags- en Maatschappijwetenschappen – Faculty of Behavioural and Social Sciences
  • Faculteit Wijsbegeerte – Faculty of Philosophy
  • Faculteit Ruimtelijke Wetenschappen – Faculty of Spatial Sciences
  • University College Groningen – University College Groningen
  • Campus Fryslân – Campus Fryslân
  • University Services
  • Universiteitsbibliotheek Groningen – University of Groningen Library
  • Centrum voor Informatie Technologie – Center for Information Technology
Last modified:12 September 2023 4.42 p.m.
View this page in: Nederlands