Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
Research Zernike (ZIAM) News

Master's student Hans Beukers wins Shell Graduation Award for Physics

27 November 2019

Master's student in Physics (and Medicine) Hans Beukers, who graduated Cum Laude in February 2019, has won the Shell Graduation Award for Physics. Beukers did research into quantum properties of electrons and atomic nuclei in diamond, with the aim of using these as nodes for a future quantum internet.

Hans Beukers | Hilde de Wolf photography
Hans Beukers | Hilde de Wolf photography

He conducted his research project under the supervision of Prof. Hanson from TU Delft and Prof. Van der Wal from the Zernike Institute for Advanced Materials. Beukers presented his promising results in his master thesis entitled "Improving coherence of quantum memory during entanglement creation between nitrogen vacancy centres in diamond - The cure for quantum Alzheimer?".

Beukers mastered both the theory and the very complex measurement setups, from lasers to fast electronics to software. He even thoroughly improved one of the setups and prepared for the experiments he wanted to do. His goal was to investigate whether quantum states could be preserved for longer in high magnetic fields. The results are very promising for quantum internet applications.

Graduation Awards

The Shell Graduation Award for Physics is part of the KHMW Graduation Awards. Please find an overview of all FSE/UG winners (Graduation and Incentive Awards) here.

Last modified:27 November 2019 09.33 a.m.
View this page in: Nederlands

More news

  • 10 June 2024

    Swarming around a skyscraper

    Every two weeks, UG Makers puts the spotlight on a researcher who has created something tangible, ranging from homemade measuring equipment for academic research to small or larger products that can change our daily lives. That is how UG...

  • 24 May 2024

    Lustrum 410 in pictures

    Lustrum 410 in pictures: A photo report of the lustrum 2024

  • 21 May 2024

    Results of 2024 University elections

    The votes have been counted and the results of the University elections are in!