Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
Research Zernike (ZIAM) News

EPS Council 2018: Petra Rudolf is the next EPS President-elect

02 May 2018

Petra Rudolf is the next EPS (European Physical Society) President-elect. She will take up office as the President of EPS in April 2019, when the term of the current President, Rüdiger Voss, comes to an end. Petra Rudolf was elected during the Council meeting of the EPS held on 6-7 April 2018 in Paris.

Prof.dr. Petra Rudolf
Prof.dr. Petra Rudolf

Biosketch | Petra Rudolf was born in Munich, Germany. She studied Physics at the 'La Sapienza' University of Rome, where she specialized in Solid State Physics. In 1987 she joined the National Surface Science laboratory TASC INFM in Trieste, Italy for the following five years. This was interrupted by two extended periods in 1989 and 1990/1991 at Bell Labs in the USA, where she began to work on the newly discovered fullerenes. In 1993 she moved to the University of Namur, Belgium where she received her PhD in 1995 and then quickly progressed from postdoctoral researcher to lecturer and senior lecturer before taking up the Chair in Experimental Solid State Physics at the University in Groningen in 2003. Her principal research interests lie in the areas of condensed matter physics and surface science, particularly molecular motors, graphene and other 2D solids, organic thin films and inorganic-organic hybrids. She has published >220 peer-reviewed articles and 30 book chapters and given 80 invited talks at international / national conferences. Dr. Rudolf serves on the editorial boards of the New Journal of Physics and of EPL. She was the President of the Belgian Physical Society in 2000/2001 and was elected Fellow of the Institute of Physics (2001), Lid van verdienste of the Dutch Physical Society (2006), Fellow of the American Physical Society (2010) and member of the European Academy of Sciences and Arts (2015) and of the German National Academy of Science and Engineering (2016). For her work on molecular motors she received the 2007 Descartes Prize of the European Commission. In 2013 she was knighted by H.M. Queen Beatrix of the Netherlands.

Last modified:02 May 2018 09.29 a.m.

More news