Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
Research Van Swinderen Institute Symposia and Meetings Van Swinderen Institute


Dieter Hoffmann

Professor Hoffmann researches at the Max Planck Institute for the History of Science and the Humboldt University Berlin, Germany and is a member of the German National Academy of Sciences (Leopoldina). He was honoured by the German Physical Society with the “Ehren Nadel”. The focus of his research is the history of science and physics in the 19th and 20th century, in particular through biographies and institutional histories and by focusing on Berlin as a leading center of science and technology. Another focus is science in totalitarian regimes, in particular during the Third Reich and in the former GDR. In the Netherlands he is known trough the NIOD (The Dutch institute that documented WW II) report on Debye.

B. Cameron Reed

Professor Reed is chair of the physics department of Alma College, Michigan, USA. He is the author of two books and numerous articles on the development of atomic bombs during the Manhattan Project of World War II. His research also includes the status of current worldwide nuclear weapons programs and deployments. In 2009, he was elected as a Fellow of the American Physical Society for his work on the Manhattan Project. His books on the Manhattan project are particular suitable for teaching physics at undergraduate level. Cameron Reed will also give a lecture for the general public on the evening of Thursday December 1st, organized together with Studium Generale.

Christoph Laucht

Dr. Laucht is senior lecturer in the Department of History and Classics, at the Swansea University, UK. His expertise includes the cold war, the nuclear age, and the history of science. He is author of the book “Elemental Germans. Klaus Fuchs, Rudolf Peierls and the Making of British Nuclear Culture, 1939-1959”.

Last modified:04 February 2020 3.32 p.m.