Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
Research Kapteyn Institute Events and News

Scott Trager new scientific director of NOVA

18 July 2023

Starting September 1, 2023, Scott Trager of the Kapteyn Astronomical Institute of Groningen will be the new scientific director of NOVA. This has just been announced by the NOVA Board. Trager will be succeeding Amina Helmi (University of Groningen).

Scott Trager was director of the Kapteyn Astronomical Institute at the University of Groningen from 2016 to 2020. He is the Dutch principal investigator for WEAVE, the ingenious spectrometer with "woven" glass fibers that monitors hundreds of stars at a time on the William Herschel Telescope on La Palma.

Amina Helmi served as scientific director of NOVA since January 1, 2022. Before that, she was deputy scientific director. Helmi led NOVA through its successful evaluation. She was also in part responsible for the successful bid of the sector plan. As a result, NOVA is assured of structural funding.

"We are greatly indebted to Amina Helmi for the incredible leadership she has provided NOVA, and for getting us into a much more stable funding situation than we had been for quite some time," said NOVA Board Chair Carsten Dominik (University of Amsterdam). He continues: "We are excited about working with Scott Trager, and executive director Michiel Rodenhuis, on the future of NOVA."

Source: NOVA

decorative image
Scott Trager. Credit: Mariska de Groot
Last modified:20 July 2023 1.34 p.m.
View this page in: Nederlands

More news

  • 12 September 2023

    Art in times of AI

    Leonardo Arriagada Beltran conducted his PhD research on the interface of computer-generated art and the constantly evolving field of Artificial Intelligence (AI). He will defend his Phd thesis on 21 September. His research offers valuable insights...

  • 28 August 2023

    Harish Vedantham and Casper van der Kooi nominated for 'Wetenschapstalent 2023'

    Harish Vedantham and Casper van der Kooi have been nominated by New Scientist for Wetenschapstalent 2023 (Science Talent 2023). This election is meant to give young scientists and their research a stage.

  • 26 July 2023

    Five promising UG researchers to top institutes abroad on Rubicon grants

    No less than five promising PhD graduates from the University of Groningen will be able to conduct research at top institutes abroad for two years thanks to the Rubicon programme organized by the Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research...