Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us Latest news News News articles

Erik Frijlink receives Dr. Saal van Zwanenberg Honorary Prize

23 October 2023
decorative image
Erik Frijlink

Prof. Erik Frijlink of the Groningen Research Institute of Pharmacy ( GRIP ) will receive the Dr. Saal van Zwanenberg Honorary Prize on November 14, together with Prof. Joke Bouwstra (Leiden University) and Prof. Wim Hennink (Utrecht University), for their scientific achievements in the field of drug delivery.

The jury unanimously came to the special decision to award the EUR 25,000 prize to three researchers because of their "hero status" in this specific field.

Better drug delivery

Erik Frijlink has been Professor of Pharmaceutical Technology and Biopharmacy at the University of Groningen, Faculty of Science and Engineering, since 1998. With his research group, he focuses on the development of advanced technologies for improved drug delivery. His research group has gained a prominent position internationally in this field, where fundamental technological research forms the basis for translation to clinic and commercial application. More than 300,000 people worldwide have already been treated with techniques he developed.

About the prize

The Royal Holland Society of Sciences (KHMW) awards the Dr. Saal van Zwanenberg Honorary Prize once every two years as a tribute to a scientist who has distinguished themselves in the field of research that has led directly or indirectly to the development of new medicines or the processes surrounding them. The prize is awarded alternately to a researcher or a clinician.

Last modified:24 October 2023 09.47 a.m.
View this page in: Nederlands

More news

  • 11 June 2024

    Hydrogen seeps into nooks and crannies

    Because hydrogen is a much smaller molecule than natural gas, it can easily leak. Even worse, despite its small size, hydrogen can affect larger materials and make them as brittle as glass.

  • 06 June 2024

    ‘We could not have dreamed of this’

    An international team of researchers, led by Groningen PhD candidate Aditya Arabhavi, has discovered that disks around very faint young stars are very different from those around Sun-like stars.

  • 06 June 2024

    Comenius Teaching Fellow grant for Lerch and Bianchi

    Dr. Michael Lerch and Dr. Frans Bianchi have received a EUR 50,000 Comenius Teaching Fellow grant from the NRO.