Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us Latest news News News articles

Lisa Herzog receives Ammodo Science Award 2021

16 September 2021
Lisa Herzog receives the Ammodo Science Award from Chair of the Board Steven Perrick (picture: Maarten Nauw)

Professor of Polticial Philosophy Lisa Herzog has received the Ammodo Science Award for fundamental research 2021.

It was awarded to her on 14 September 2021 during a festive ceremony at the Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ in Amsterdam. The award consists of a grant of €300,000 to be spent on a fundamental research project.

About the Ammodo Science Award

The Ammodo Science Award for fundamental research is intended for excellent internationally recognized mid career scientists who work in the Netherlands and have obtained their PhD degree no longer than fifteen years ago. Lisa Herzog is one of eight laureates. In alternate years, eight laureates receive the award for fundamental research. In the other years, the award for groundbreaking research is awarded to eight others.

More information

Award ceremony news article Ammodo Foundation (15 Sept 2021)

Press release (March 2021)

This article was published by the Faculty of Philosophy.

Last modified:23 September 2021 12.32 p.m.
printView this page in: Nederlands

More news

  • 28 September 2021

    Charlotte Knowles wins 2020 Robert Papazian Essay Prize

    The 2020 Robert Papazian Essay Prize has been awarded to Charlotte Knowles for her essay ‘Articulating Understanding: A Phenomenological Approach to Testimony on Gendered Violence’.

  • 27 September 2021

    Zpannend Zernike Limited: get on your bike on 3 October for a tour of science and technology

    Different from previous years but still surprising, fun, healthy, and for the whole family: join Groningen’s take on this year’s national weekend of science, organized by the University of Groningen (UG) and Hanze University of Applied Sciences...

  • 13 September 2021

    Blowing holes in economic ideologies

    Earlier this year, political philosopher and UG lecturer Lisa Herzog was awarded the Ammodo Science Award. In concrete terms, this translates into a sum of €300,000 for the purposes of fundamental research. So, what will this ambitious philosopher...