Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About usNews and EventsNews articles

Nobel Prize Award Ceremony for Ben Feringa

08 December 2016

On Saturday 10 December, Professor Ben Feringa will receive the Nobel Prize for Chemistry. The Award Ceremony is being held in Stockholm, Sweden, and will be streamed live via the UG website. You can watch the livestream by clicking the button below. You can also join us and watch the livestream from the University Museum.

Nobel event in the University Museum

The Award Ceremony will be broadcast live in the University Museum where historian Dr Arjen Dijkstra will give an introductory lecture on the Nobel highlights from the history of the University of Groningen. During the ceremony there will be a live feed to UG reporter Riepko Buikema in Stockholm and afterwards there will be drinks. The event will start on Saturday at 4 p.m. and end at 6 p.m. The number of places is limited: free tickets are available from the I Shop.

Nobel Blog

Follow Ben Feringa and his delegation in Stockholm, where he will give his Nobel Lecture on 8 December and receive the Nobel Prize on 10 December. UG staff members Peter van der Sijde and Riepko Buikema will be reporting on the preparations via the Nobel Blog and will follow Feringa to Stockholm on Wednesday.

Nobel Prize in pictures

Look at the pictures taken during Ben Feringa's Nobel Lecture on 8 December on the website Nobel Prize in pictures. Here you can also find a short summary of the lecure and the full lecture.


Watch the ‘explanimation’ of Feringa’s research on molecular motors, for which he won the Nobel Prize.

More information

Last modified:03 November 2017 12.35 p.m.
printView this page in: Nederlands

More news

  • 23 September 2019

    Standup Economics: UG experts and comedians take to the stage | 6 October

    On Sunday 6 October, Het Financieele Dagblad and Comedy Central, in collaboration with Het Akkoord van Groningen, will present the first edition of Standup Economics – the festival where economy and comedy come together. On various stages across the...

  • 20 September 2019

    Start of MOSAiC – the Greatest Arctic Research Expedition of All Time

    After a decade of preparations, it’s finally time: on the evening of 20 September the German icebreaker Polarstern departs from the Norwegian port of Tromsø. Escorted by the Russian icebreaker Akademik Fedorov, she will set sail for the Central Arctic...

  • 20 September 2019

    Imagining Science

    Noorderlicht and the University of Groningen (RUG) continue their collaboration in the ‘Imagining Science’ series. Each year they commission a photographer to depict a scientific research field in relation to the Noorderlicht festival-theme of the year...