Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us Latest news News News articles

Pauline Kleingeld appointed member of KNAW

13 May 2015

The Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW) has appointed Pauline Kleingeld, Professor of Ethics and its History, as a member. The KNAW elects 16 new members each year. Members of KNAW, prominent academics from all disciplines, are chosen on the basis of nominations by peers within and outside the Academy.

Pauline Kleingeld
Pauline Kleingeld

Kleingeld is one of the most prominent experts in the field of Kantian ethics and political philosophy. She has published on themes including free will, the role of emotions, and cosmopolitanism in the past and present. Kleingeld has been able to build an important bridge between developments in the behavioural sciences and in ethics. She is currently researching the meaning of empirical psychological research for ethics and the question of how to justify moral duties.

Installation ceremony on 28 September

The KNAW has about 500 members, divided into an Arts section and a Sciences section. Membership is for life. The new Academicians will be installed on Monday 28 September 2015 in the Trippenhuis, the headquarters of the KNAW.

Last modified:12 March 2020 9.47 p.m.
View this page in: Nederlands

More news

  • 14 March 2023

    'Consolation is being able to give meaning to loss'

    Being able to give meaning to loss – that is what consolation is. Christoph Jedan, Professor of Ethics and Comparative Philosophy of Religion, examined the consolation literature of theologians and of philosophers from classical antiquity. He...

  • 23 February 2023

    Vici grants for four researchers

    The Dutch Research Council (NWO) has awarded Vici grants, worth €1.5 million each, to four UG/UMCG researchers. Prof. Marleen Kamperman, Prof. Lisa Herzog, Prof. Ming Cao and Prof. Floris Foijer can use this money to develop an innovative line of...

  • 20 February 2023

    Vijf RUG-onderzoekers benoemd bij Koninklijke Hollandsche Maatschappij der Wetenschappen

    De Koninklijke Hollandsche Maatschappij der Wetenschappen (KHMW) heeft dit jaar Sjoerd Beugelsdijk, Lisa Herzog, Jeroen de Ridder, Moniek Tromp en Helga de Valk benoemd als nieuwe leden.