Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
Over onsNieuws en agendaNieuwsberichten

Strating Prize 2012

15 March 2013
Dr Harutyunyan, Prof van Leusen, Arjan Geersing and Prof Engberts
Dr Harutyunyan, Prof van Leusen, Arjan Geersing and Prof Engberts

On March 15th, 2013 the prestigious Stratingh Award for the best colloquium in the year 2012 was announced. This award has been established in 1996 by (now emeritus) Prof. Albert van Leusen in recognition of his PhD supervisor, Prof. Jan Strating. The award is supported by the Backer foundation.

Selection of the three nominees, out of ten colloquia, was performed by the jury consisting of Dr. Syuzanna Harutyunyan (Chair), Dr. Edwin Otten, Claudia Poloni and Beatrix Calvo. The three nominated colloquia were of excellent quality and therefore the jury had a difficult task in selecting the best piece of work. After serious consideration the jury unanimously decided to award the prizes as follows: third prize went to Anouk Lubbe for her colloquium on cascade reactions in total synthesis. The second prize was given to Edwin Kroon for his colloquium on stereogenic-atmetal complexes in catalysis.

The first prize, the prestigious Stratingh award and 300 euros, was awarded to Arjan Geersing for his excellent colloquium titled “Fluorescent Probes for Reactive Oxygen Species (ROS)”.

Congratulations to all the winners! Almost the entire Stratingh Institute including Prof. Albert van Leusen, the founder of the Strating Award, joined in with the celebrations of these awards after the cerimony with cake and coffee (thanks goes to Hilda for arranging that). The winners enjoyed a lunch on the same day together with the jury and the Backer foundation commitee members

Last modified:04 July 2014 9.36 p.m.

More news