Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us Faculty of Science and Engineering Meet the Faculty Rosalind Franklin Fellowship

Fellows round 2002

at the Faculty of Science and Engineering

In the first round at the Faculty of Science and Engineering (2002), Rosalind Franklin fellowships were awarded to:

Prof. dr. Elisabetta Pallante - associate professor

Major subject: Theoretical particle physics

Research interests: Lattice and Effective Field Theories, Symmetry violations, Physics with extra dimensions.

Dr. Elisabetta Pallante
Dr. Elisabetta Pallante

After completing her Master thesis in experimental particle physics she moved to theoretical physics and received her Ph.D. from the University of Rome “La Sapienza” (1993). She worked among other places as a research fellow at the International School for Advanced Studies S.I.S.S.A. She was appointed as an RFF fellow in 2004 and founded the Particle Physics group at the Centre for Theoretical Physics at RUG. Her major contributions are to the theory of CP violation, the anomalous magnetic moment of the muon and the interplay of effective field theories and the lattice formulation of field theory. She is chairperson of a working group in the large EU network on flavour physics (FLAVIAnet), she is member of the DRSTP Young committee and DRSTP Educational Board, she obtained a FOM Projectruimte grant, she is participant of the recently approved FOM programme “Theoretical particle physics in the era of the LHC”, and she is co-initiator of the “De Sitter Lecture Series in Theoretical Physics”, with opening lecture in 2008.

Email: e.pallante  

Prof. dr. Beatriz Noheda – full professor

Major subject: Experimental Condensed Matter Physics.
Research interest: Thin films of functional oxides and nanomaterials with enhanced physical responses.

Prof. dr. Beatriz Noheda
Prof. dr. Beatriz Noheda

Beatriz Noheda (1968) received her PhD in Physics in 1996 by the University Autonomous of Madrid (UAM). After post-doctoral stays at Clarendon Laboratory (Oxford) and Brookhaven National Laboratory (New York) combined with a part-time lecturer position at the UAM, in 2000 she became Assistant Physicist (tenure-track) at Brookhaven National Lab, where she also acted as local contact of one of the NSLS synchrotron beamlines. In 2004 she became a Rosalind Franklin fellow (Assistant Professor) at the Zernike Institute for Advanced Materials, where she has started a new research line on thin films of ferroic materials and other functional nanomaterials with interest in electronics. In 2008, she became Associate Professor at the same Institute. In 2009 she was elected "Teacher of the year" by the Chemistry students.

Email: b.noheda

Prof.dr. Charlotte K. Hemelrijk - associate professor

Major subject: Self-organisation of social systems
esearch interests: her research  aims at explaining social systems by means of simple behavioural rules.

Charlotte Hemelrijk (1955) took a Ph. D. degree in biology on social behaviour of chimpanzees at the University of Utrecht. She worked at the University of Zurich at the Department of Information Technology, the Department of Ethology, and the Department of Anthropology. In October 2003 she was awarded the Rosalind Franklin Fellowship. She started her research at the Centre for Ecological and Evolutionary Studies (CEES), Faculty of Science and Engineering in Groningen. In July 2006 she was promoted to associate professor in Self-organisation of social systems. Her research aims at explaining social systems by means of simple behavioural rules. Social systems studied at present are groups of primates, flocks of starlings and schools of fish.

Her publication list and recent work can be found on her homepage.
Email: C.K.Hemelrijk  
Prof.dr. Martha Merrow - full professor

Major subject: Chronobiology, Genes and Behaviour
search Interests: Molecular and genetic mechanisms of circadian systems

Martha Merrow (1957) received her Ph.D. from the Tufts University Medical School in Boston, USA, and a habilitation in Medical Psychology and Chronobiology from the University of Munich Medical School. She started her Rosalind Franklin fellowship in December 2004 at the Biological Center of the Faculty of Science and Engineering in Haren. 

She is the vice chair of a large EU Integrated Project, EUCLOCK and received a VICI award in 2005. As of November 2006, she has been promoted to Professor of Molecular and Genetic Chronobiology.  She won the prize 'Aschoff's Rule' for chronobiology research.

As of May 2012 she is a professor at the University LMU Munich (Germany).

More information at her homepage. m.merrow

Dr. Petra van Koningsbruggen
Dr. Petra van Koningsbruggen

Dr. Petra J. van Koningsbruggen – assistant professor

Major subject: Inorganic Chemistry

Research interests: Synthesis and physical characterisation of homo- and bimetallic first-row transition metal coordination compounds with emphasis on (photo)magnetic properties

Petra van Koningsbruggen (1965) completed her Ph.D. at Leiden University in 1994. In the following years she worked as a post-doc at the universities of Mainz (Germany), Bordeaux (France) and Salt Lake City, Utah (USA). In 2004 she was awarded the Rosalind Franklin Fellowship and appointed as assistant professor in Inorganic Chemistry at the university of Groningen. She now works at the Aston University, Birmingham (UK).

Laatst gewijzigd:14 maart 2024 09:53