Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us FEB Research / FEB FEB Research News News / FEB

Freshman of the Year awards (and recap Opening Academic Year FEB)

13 September 2021

Last week, during the Opening of the Academic Year FEB, the freshman awards were presented by our vice dean of education, Manda Broekhuis. There were four awards; for the freshmen of each Bachelor programme.

  • Kim van Birgelen, BSc Bedrijfskunde
  • Machiel Kroon, BSc Econometrics and Operations Research
  • Lars Boersma, BSc Economics and Business Economics
  • Merle Jacobsen, BSc International Business

Congratulations to the winners on their great results!

Freshman Awards
From left to right: Machiel Kroon, Kim van Birgelen, Lars Boersma and Merle Jacobsen

Opening of the Academic Year FEB about Leadership in Times of Crisis.

Next to handing out the freshman awards, the Opening of the Academic Year FEB revolved around the theme Leadership in Times of Crises. Professors Janka Stoker and Harry Garretsen chaired the event. After speeches from Peter Verhoef and EBF chairman Lars Wartena, Harry Garretsen gave an introduction to the theme and external guest Laura van Geest, chair of the Dutch Authority for the Financial Markets (AFM, Autoriteit Financiële Markten), gave her keynote speech. The ceremony ended with a panel discussion in which Laura van Geest, Harry Garretsen and other external guest André Postema (chair of the board of the Martini Hospital) took part.

Unable to attend?

In case you missed the Opening of the Academic Year FEB, you can watch the recording here or take a look at the photos below.

Last modified:01 February 2023 4.20 p.m.

More news

  • 17 June 2024

    The Young Academy Groningen welcomes seven new members

    After summer, the Young Academy Groningen will again welcome seven new members. Their research covers a wide variety of topics, ranging from speech technology to the philosophy of ethics and politics and polymer chemistry.

  • 27 May 2024

    Four honorary doctorates awarded by the UG

    On Friday, 24 May, the UG awarded four honorary doctorates to Dr Kate Crawford, Dr Tedros Ghebreyesus, Gerrit Hiemstra and Prof. Mariana Mazzucato. The presentation took place in the Aula of the Academy Building and was part of the university's...

  • 08 May 2024

    Juliette de Wit, Femke Cnossen and Maite Laméris receive YAG grant

    Juliette de Wit, Femke Cnossen and Maite Laméris have received a YAG Grant of € 6,000 for an interdisciplinary project on the long-lasting socio-economic consequences of the ‘Arbeitseinsatz’ in the Netherlands. The grant enables them to explore...