Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us FEB Research / FEB FEB Research News News / FEB

FEB and FSE researchers have received NWO grant of 500K for a joint project.

10 December 2021

Thom de Vries, Gerben van der Vegt, Dirk Pieter van Donk from the Faculty of Economics and Business (FEB), along with colleagues Ming Cao and Alexander Hübl from the Faculty of Science and Engineering (FSE) received funding from the Dutch Research Council (NWO) and knowledge platform Next Generation Infrastructures (NGinfra).

The increasing role of data and data analysis, new types of sustainable energy, far-reaching urbanisation and the need for circularity are all examples of transitions that infrastructure managers have to deal with. Meticulous alignment between parties is vital for making various infrastructures as well as their management both climate resilient and futureproof.

In their project, the five researchers will work together with the Port of Rotterdam, Rijkswaterstaat and Prorail. “Infrastructure organisations increasingly need to join forces and coordinate their efforts to deal with multi-infra challenges, such as the renewal of infrastructure and the transition to sustainable transport or energy systems. We examine how infrastructure organisations can use and manage so-called “systems-of-systems” to effectively deal with this role,” according to the researchers.

The research project has a unique interdisciplinary nature, as it involves researchers from the HRM & Organizational Behaviour and Operations departments of FEB, as well as researchers from ENTEG and the IEM Design Group of FSE (Gerald Jonker, Ming Cao, and Alexander Hübl).

For more information, please contact Thom de Vries.

Last modified:01 February 2023 4.20 p.m.

More news