Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us Campus Fryslân

Prof. Jouke de Vries has acceded to the KHMW

13 February 2018

Professor of Public Administration and Dean of the University of Groningen/Campus Fryslân, Jouke de Vries, has acceded to the Royal Holland Society of Sciences and Humanities (KHMW), the oldest ‘Learned Society’ in the Netherlands.

The KHMW was founded as a Dutch Society of Sciences in 1752, with the aim of promoting science in its broadest sense. The KHMW has been promoting science since its foundation and wants to bridge the gap between science and society. King Willem-Alexander is patron of the approximately 900 man-and-woman society.

The KHMW has members who have earned their spurs in science and directors who combine scientific and social activities with each other. Prof. Dr Jouke de Vries has been appointed as director. De Vries: "It is an honour that I have been appointed as director by the board. I see it as a reward for the academic subsidiaries that I have set up in The Hague (Leiden University) and in Leeuwarden for the University of Groningen. "

In addition to De Vries as director, University of Groningen scientists Jacquelien Scherpen and Jan-Willem Romeijn have been appointed members.

About prof. Jouke de Vries

Jouke de Vries (1960) is a Professor of Public Administration and Dean of the University of Groningen/Campus Fryslân. Campus Fryslân is a UG location in Leeuwarden with Master’s degree programmes, a Bachelor’s College and a research and valorisation agenda that dovetails with the region’s priorities. De Vries’s research focuses on politics and administration, more specifically on decision-making processes, coalition negotiations and policy changes. He publishes regularly in the Official State Gazette of the Netherlands (Staatscourant) and a regular guest analyst on radio and TV programmes.

Oldest ‘Learned Society’ in The Netherlands

The Royal Holland Society of Sciences and Humanities (KHMW: Koninklijke Hollandsche Maatschappij der Wetenschappen) is the oldest ‘Learned Society’ in the Netherlands. It was founded in 1752 under the name Hollandsche Maatschappij der Wetenschappen to promote science in the widest possible sense. Ever since its establishment, the Society has been involved in promoting science and facilitating exchange between academia and society.

It has traditionally had a two-tier structure: a college of administrators with an academic interest, i.e. the Directors, and a group of academics, i.e. the members, who are responsible for the Society’s academic activities.

Last modified:19 December 2018 07.02 a.m.
printView this page in: Nederlands

More news